subversion-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Andreas Stieger" <Andreas.Stie...@gmx.de>
Subject Re: Feature request: Save the old file when svn revert
Date Tue, 21 Jul 2015 08:38:07 GMT
Hello,

David Grierson wrote:
> > "svn revert" will delete the local changes and nowhere to find, which
> > is dangerous.
> > I suggest the default behaiver should be save the local changed
> > file(if any) to "filename.local" and do the revert.
> >
> That's actually not a bad idea ... I've been burnt by this one a couple of times myself.
> 
> Probably worth raising it with the dev@subversion.apache.org list to see if it's something
that they've considered previously.

Actually a feature in at least one GUI client:
http://tortoisesvn.net/docs/release/TortoiseSVN_en/tsvn-dug-settings.html#tsvn-dug-settings-dialogs
Otherwise it's rather platform specific to implement, and may be better suited for integrated
clients.

Andreas

Mime
View raw message