zookeeper-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Flavio Junqueira <...@apache.org>
Subject Re: rolling upgrade with wiped disk
Date Fri, 21 Oct 2016 12:59:09 GMT
Hi Maksim,

You have to be careful when you do this. You may end up losing quorum on txns if you wipe
out the disk of a server prematurely.

On your step 4, you can tell that a server is ready once clients are able to connect to it
successfully.

Thanks,
-Flavio

> On 21 Oct 2016, at 09:11, Vazhenin, Maksim <Maksim.Vazhenin@dell.com> wrote:
> 
> Hi,
> 
> Is this a supported scenario for doing rolling upgrade of zookeeper (v3.4.5) to later
version (say v3.4.9):
> 
> 1. Shutdown server A (v3.4.5)
> 2. Wipe disk with zookeeper data on server A
> 3. Start server A with new zk version (v3.4.9)
> 4. Wait till reconstruction complete on server A (what is the indicator for completion?)
> 5. Go to server B and repeat 1-4.
> 
> Thanks,
> Maksim


Mime
View raw message