www-infrastructure-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Gavin (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] Commented: (INFRA-2441) Create new TLP Axis
Date Thu, 28 Jan 2010 04:43:34 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/INFRA-2441?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=12805780#action_12805780
] 

Gavin commented on INFRA-2441:
------------------------------

Hi Glen,

My thoughts on the SVN structure are:

I'm not liking the priority of language over project. Having two lots of trunk/tags/branches
for a project seems a silly idea. Not to mention that if someone wanted to fix something in
say sandesha that fixed a problem on both java and c, that persoon would either need to check
out two projects - c/sandesha/trunk and java/sandesha/trunk , or to check out only one they'd
need to go back in the tree as far as axis2 and check out many trunks/branches/tags including
for projects that do not interest them.

It would also make for an interesting authorisation file.

I think I'd prefer to see each project have only one place in svn, and that each project only
have one trunk/branch/tags.

so something like /axis/axis2/sandesha/trunk [c|java]

I imagine that would make the tags/branches moves easier.

However, I take it there has been quite some discussion at projects level about this, and
your reasons may be more compelling than my preference of a more sane (?) layout.

> Create new TLP Axis
> -------------------
>
>                 Key: INFRA-2441
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/INFRA-2441
>             Project: Infrastructure
>          Issue Type: Task
>      Security Level: public(Regular issues) 
>          Components: TLP Admin
>            Reporter: Glen Daniels
>            Assignee: Gavin
>
> After a board vote in December, and significant discussion on pmc@ws.apache.org, we'd
like to ask the infra team to please help us out with setting up the new Axis TLP.
> #=======================================
> [0] Root Tasks
> Create unix group "axis"
> Create new DNS entry "axis.apache.org" and configure into website server instance
> #=======================================
> [1] Mailing Lists 
> (i) addresses
> Please migrate the existing archives, subscribers and moderators for the following lists:
>   java-dev@axis.apache.org from axis-dev@ws.apache.org
>    (also please merge subscribers from rampart-dev, sandesha-dev,
>     kandula-dev, and savan-dev to this list)
>   c-dev@axis.apache.org from axis-c-dev@ws.apache.org
>    (also please merge subscribers from rampart-c-dev to this list)
>   java-user@axis.apache.org from axis-user@ws.apache.org
>   c-user@axis.apache.org from axis-c-user@ws.apache.org
>   
> and create these new lists:
>   private@axis.apache.org
>   general@axis.apache.org
>   axis1-java-user@axis.apache.org
>   axis1-c-user@axis.apache.org
>   mbox
>   . http://axis.apache.org/mail/axis/java-dev/YYYYMM.gz
>   . http://axis.apache.org/mail/axis/commits/YYYYMM.gz
>   . private@axis to be archived in the private area.
> (ii) options
> I. Reply-To: Header [X] yes [ ] no
>     NOTE: $PROJECT-commits@$TLP.apache.org -> $PROJECT-dev@$TLP.apache.org
> II. Message Trailer [ ] yes [X] no
> #=======================================
> [2] Source Tracker
> (i) Subversion
> Move the following projects to their new homes.  This might take a bit of
> doing, and we're happy to discuss details or suggestions.  Basically we think
> the trunks want to be moved like this:
> asf/webservices/axis/trunk/java -> asf/axis/axis1/java/trunk
> asf/webservices/axis/trunk/c -> asf/axis/axis1/c/trunk
> asf/webservices/axis2/trunk/java -> asf/axis/axis2/java/core/trunk
> asf/webservices/axis2/trunk/c -> asf/axis/axis2/c/core/trunk
> asf/webservices/rampart/trunk/java -> asf/axis/axis2/java/rampart/trunk
> asf/webservices/rampart/trunk/c -> asf/axis/axis2/c/rampart/trunk
> asf/webservices/sandesha/trunk/java -> asf/axis/axis2/java/sandesha/trunk
> asf/webservices/sandesha/trunk/c -> asf/axis/axis2/c/sandesha/trunk
> asf/webservices/savan/trunk/java -> asf/axis/axis2/java/savan/trunk
> asf/webservices/savan/trunk/c -> asf/axis/axis2/c/savan/trunk
> So for all the above, we're moving towards a structure where java/ and c/ are the top
level containers for the core and the modules, and then each project below that will have
its own trunk/branches/tags.  The thing I don't know how to deal with is moving the branches
and tags that we have now, which are all split at the top level (i.e. webservices/axis2/[trunk,branches,tags...]),
into the new structure.  Is that doable?
> asf/webservices/kandula/trunk/java -> asf/axis/axis2/java/kandula/trunk
> asf/webservices/commons/trunk/modules/transport -> asf/axis/axis2/java/transports/trunk
> #=======================================
> [3] Initial PMC membership
> Afkham Azeez < afkham@gmail.com >
> Ajith Ranabahu < ajith.ranabahu@gmail.com >
> Aleksander Slominski < aslom@cs.indiana.edu >
> Amila Suriarachchi < amilaSuriarachchi@gmail.com >
> Dimuthu Gamage < dimuthu@apache.org >
> Jarek Gawor < jgawor@gmail.com >
> Keith Chapman < keithgchapman@gmail.com >
> Milinda Pathirage < milinda@apache.org >
> Nandana Mihindukulasooriya < nandana@apache.org >
> Paul Fremantle < pzf@apache.org >
> Prabath Siriwardena < prabath@apache.org >
> Richard Scheuerle < scheu@us.ibm.com >
> Jeff Barrett < barrettj@us.ibm.com >
> Andreas Veithen < andreas.veithen@gmail.com >
> Sanjiva Weerawarana < sanjiva@opensource.lk >
> Senaka Fernando < senakafdo@gmail.com >
> Nandika Jayawardana < nandika@apache.org >
> Saminda Abeyruwan < samindaa@gmail.com >
> Samisa Abeysinghe < samisa@apache.org >
> Selvaratnam Uthaiyashankar < shankar@apache.org >
> Damitha Kumarage <damitha@apache.org>
> Bill Nagy < nagy@watson.ibm.com >
> Sumedha Rubasinghe < sumedha@apache.org >
> Thilina Gunarathne < thilina@apache.org >
> Ruwan Linton < ruwan@apache.org >
> Dinesh Premalal < dinesh@apache.org >
> Upul Godage < upul@apache.org >
> Srinath Perera < hemapani@apache.org >
> Dimuthu Leelarathne < muthulee@apache.org >
> Supun Kamburugamuva <supun@apache.org>
> Ruchith Fernando < ruchithf@apache.org >
> Lahiru Sandakith < sandakith@apache.org >
> Eran Chinthaka < chinthaka@apache.org >
> David Illsley <davidillsley@apache.org >
> Glen Daniels < gdaniels@apache.org >
> Deepal Jayasinghe < deepal@apache.org >
> Tom Jordahl < tomj@apache.org >
> #=======================================
> [4] Initial Committers
> The PMC members above plus:
> Saminda Abeyruwan < saminda@apache.org >
> #=======================================
> [5] Add gdaniels (PMC chair) to appropriate authorizations in auth file.
> [6] Create "axis" directory in /www/www.apache.org/dist directory for publishing software.

-- 
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
-
You can reply to this email to add a comment to the issue online.


Mime
View raw message