tomcat-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Jane Muse" <JM...@aldon.com>
Subject RE: Disable class monitoring for reloading container classes
Date Wed, 13 Oct 2010 22:34:16 GMT
The IBM I uses its own integrated file system (IFS). You can access it
locally with map network drives, but my tests did not involve doing
that.

Jane

-----Original Message-----
From: Jeffrey Janner [mailto:Jeffrey.Janner@PolyDyne.com] 
Sent: Wednesday, October 13, 2010 3:20 PM
To: Tomcat Users List
Subject: RE: Disable class monitoring for reloading container classes

That was me in another thread.  Here's what I stated:

"It just occurred to me that I don't think anyone's asked if these are
net-mounted file systems.  I've seen this timestamp-shifting before, but
only on net-mounted filesystems.  Usually the source and local systems
are set to different timezones (or DST settings)."

Jeff

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Christopher Schultz [mailto:chris@christopherschultz.net]
> Sent: Wednesday, October 13, 2010 1:21 PM
> To: Tomcat Users List
> Subject: Re: Disable class monitoring for reloading container classes
> 
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> Hash: SHA1
> 
> Jane,
> 
> On 10/13/2010 1:40 PM, Jane Muse wrote:
> > Thanks for the java program Chris, I ran it on the version of the 
> > O/S where we get the problem and got results that show a last 
> > modified date that differs by one hour when the time changes due to
DST.
> >
> > Current GMT time (no DST): 2010-10-12 22:53:27 GMT  Current local 
> > time (with DST): 2010-10-12 15:53:28 PDT  File 
> > [/Aldon/Aldonls/tomcat20/lib/servlet-api.jar]
> >  last modified timestamp: 1231267693000  the file was last modified 
> > 55656315 seconds ago  last modified as GMT time (no DST): 2009-01-06

> > 18:48:13 GMT  last modified as local time: 2009-01-06 10:48:13 PST
> >
> > Change date to: 03/13/10
> >
> > java com.aldon.lifetime.permissions.test.TimeChange
> '/Aldon/Aldonls/tomcat20/lib/servlet-api.jar'
> > Current GMT time (no DST): 2010-03-13 23:55:24 GMT Current local 
> > time (with DST): 2010-03-13 15:55:24 PST File 
> > [/Aldon/Aldonls/tomcat20/lib/servlet-api.jar]
> > last modified timestamp: 1231271293000 the file was last modified 
> > 37253231 seconds ago last modified as GMT time (no DST): 2009-01-06 
> > 19:48:13 GMT last modified as local time: 2009-01-06 11:48:13 PST
> >
> > IBM has said they'll open a discussion with their development team 
> > and try to get a fix out.
> 
> Someone had a suggestion about the use of NFS. Are you using a remote 
> filesystem that might be mutating the file timestamps?
> 
> - -chris
> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
> Version: GnuPG v1.4.10 (MingW32)
> Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/
> 
> iEYEARECAAYFAky1+KIACgkQ9CaO5/Lv0PA0aQCffNfPI8JGlH9wrzRbzw9rFg9L
> DCgAnjKwE1Nodu6cj180aKqVfv5pvXBs
> =ki8t
> -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----
> 
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tomcat.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tomcat.apache.org
> 

________________________________________________________________________
__

Confidentiality Notice:  This Transmission (including any attachments)
may contain information that is privileged, confidential, and exempt
from disclosure under applicable law.  If the reader of this message is
not the intended recipient you are hereby notified that any
dissemination, distribution, or copying of this communication is
strictly prohibited.  

If you have received this transmission in error, please immediately
reply to the sender or telephone (512) 343-9100 and delete this
transmission from your system.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: users-unsubscribe@tomcat.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: users-help@tomcat.apache.org


Mime
View raw message