spamassassin-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From (Bob Proulx)
Subject Re: Objective site to run spamcheck against?
Date Wed, 19 Sep 2007 19:56:27 GMT
Tuc at T-B-O-H.NET wrote:
> 	ANYWAY, it doesn't look like my server is in the lists,
> BUT......The IP I send from (RR.COM) is blacklisted here :

These are not really blacklists but are a list of dynamic IP
addresses.  Many sites will not accept mail from a dynamic IP range.
My site is one of those.  My policy is that I refuse connections from
dynamic IP ranges.

As has been discussed many times in various forums and would be
available by reading the archives the best practice is always to send
from a static IP address.  Otherwise RBLs don't really work at all
because a spammer could simply rotate addresses routinely and avoid
the RBL listing.

> > > >       An inordinate amount of people are telling me I'm
> > > > ending up in spam folders,

RBLs would probably result in a silent discard as opposed to delivery
to a spam folder.  I suspect it would be other triggers.


View raw message