perl-modperl-cvs mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Doug MacEachern <do...@itixs.com>
Subject Success with mod-perl (fwd)
Date Thu, 21 Oct 1999 19:08:35 GMT
"mod_perl can handle tropical cyclones"

---------- Forwarded message ----------
Date: Wed, 20 Oct 1999 17:01:42 -0700
From: "Kent, Mr. John" <kent@nrlmry.navy.mil>
To: "Hawkins, Mr. Jeffrey" <hawkins@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Richardson, Mr. Kim" <kim@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Turk, Dr. Joe" <turk@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Lee, Mr. Thomas" <lee@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Sampson, Mr. Buck" <sampson@nrlmry.navy.mil>
Cc: "Caughey, Mr. Allan" <caughey@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Cotham, Dr. Joe" <cotham@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Curtis, Ms. Cindy" <curtis@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Kent, Mr. John" <kent@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Kunitani, Mr. Craig" <kunitani@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Hembree, Dr. Louis" <hembree@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "White, Dr. Marie" <white@nrlmry.navy.mil>,
     "Cook, John" <jcook@ssd5.nrl.navy.mil>
Subject: Success with mod-perl

Greetings,

Pleased to report that the conversion of the satellite webpage Perl modules
and
the Tropical Cyclone webpage to mod-perl has been completed.

The improvement is amazing!  The mod-perl server can handle 140x more
requests per second and
completed the initial test 160x faster than the ordinary Apache server.

The Apache benchmark tool, ap,  gave the following results:

Specified 10 concurrent users (NC) each requesting the tc_home page 100
times
10 x 100 =  1000 total number of request (NR)

For the existing on-line tc_home webpage
http://www.nrlmry.navy.mil/sat-bin/tc_home

RPS = requests per second  (how many requests the server can handle per
second)

 NR          NC     RPS  Time for Test (sec)  Load
1000        10       4          251                     >12

For the mod-perl server http://kauai.nrlmry.navy.mil:8888/perl/tc_home

(Multiple numbers indicate multiple runs with the same NR and NC)

 NR           NC    RPS  Time for Test (sec)  Load
1000         10     645        1.5		        1
                         626        1.7
                         571
                         707

Thus the mod-perl server can handle at least 140 x more requests per second
(14,000 % improvement!) than
the regular cgi script server.

Continued out with the mod-perl and got the following results

2000          20    253         7.8
3000          30    225         13
4000          40    262         15              load ~ 3
5000          50    211          24
7000          70    255          27
10000       100    218         45              load ~ 6
15000       150    226         66

Request  your assistance by using the new server for a while  to completely
test it out before we bring it on-line.

John Kent
Webmaster
NRL Monterey




Mime
View raw message