openoffice-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Andrea Pescetti <pesce...@apache.org>
Subject Usability: dictionary updates and profile migration
Date Sat, 03 Aug 2013 10:51:25 GMT
To solve a long-standing hyphenation issue
https://issues.apache.org/ooo/show_bug.cgi?id=119087
I've just uploaded an updated version of the English dictionary. It is 
kept unpublished because of the usability issues below, but you can 
download it from http://extensions.openoffice.org/download/17415

If one is using OpenOffice 4.0.0, or upgrades 3.4.1 to 4.0.0 before 
updating the dictionary, there is no problem: once the new release is 
published, users will be notified and will be able to install the new 
dictionary.

Instead, if one is using 3.4.1 and decides to update the dictionary 
BEFORE updating OpenOffice, there are some usability issues. Everything 
will work, no matter what the user chooses, but is the following 
scenario acceptable to avoid too many support requests?

I'm using 3.4.1, I update the English dictionary, then I update to 
OpenOffice 4. I launch OpenOffice 4 and I see: Transfer personal data?

1) NO: No problem, OpenOffice 4 comes with the old dictionary, I'll be 
notified and update it later.

2) YES: I receive this warning:
You are about to install version 2013.07.31 of the extension 'English 
spelling and hyphenation dictionaries and thesaurus'.
The older version 2010.03.16 is already installed.
Click 'OK' to replace the installed extension.
Click 'Cancel' to stop the installation.

2.A) Cancel: the installation does not actually stop. It continues and 
I'm shown:
You are about to install version 2010.03.16 of the extension 'English 
spelling and hyphenation dictionaries and thesaurus'.
That version is already installed.
Click 'OK' to replace the installed extension.
Click 'Cancel' to stop the installation.
2.A.1) Cancel again...
OpenOffice 4.0.0 - Fatal Error
Extension has already been added: English spelling and hyphenation 
dictionaries and thesaurus [OK]
Scary language aside, it's enough to restart OpenOffice and everything 
works, profile is migrated and I still have the old dictionary, I'll 
update it as if this was a clean installation.
2.A.2) OK... OpenOffice is launched, profile migrated, old dictionary, 
will be updated as in a clean installation.

2.B) OK: The installation continues and then I'm shown:
You are about to install version 2010.03.16 of the extension 'English 
spelling and hyphenation dictionaries and thesaurus'.
The newer version 2013.07.31 is already installed.
Click 'OK' to replace the installed extension.
Click 'Cancel' to stop the installation.
2.B.1) Cancel: like 2.A.1, "Fatal Error" but it's enough to relaunch 
OpenOffice (and, in this case, I already get the new dictionary)
2.B.2) OK: like 2.A.2, OpenOffice is launched normally and I get the old 
dictionary.

So, is this acceptable? It seems that we already have 2.A in all 
installations, it's covered in the Release Notes and nobody complained 
so far. I could edit the Release Notes and simply suggest to always 
press "OK". The only drawback is that users will have to download the 
new dictionary again (but they will notified about it).

Of course, 2.B looks like a profile migration bug to me: I've already 
chosen to keep my (newer) dictionary and OpenOffice insists on 
installing the old one.

Regards,
   Andrea.

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: dev-unsubscribe@openoffice.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: dev-help@openoffice.apache.org


Mime
View raw message