nifi-users mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Matthew Clarke <matt.clarke....@gmail.com>
Subject Re: Is it just me or do others think it should be a bit harder to delete your components?
Date Sat, 31 Oct 2015 07:05:08 GMT
You cannot delete a process group unless it is empty, so you don't need to
worry about deleting nested sub process groups.  I myself see the value in
a 'are you sure' pop-up. It just needs to be implemented in a smart way.  I
created a ticket -- Nifi-1089
On Oct 31, 2015 2:20 AM, "Mark Petronic" <markpetronic@gmail.com> wrote:

> Thanks. Ya, I realized the checks in place for deletes under the
> conditions you listed. And, I can understand the 'annoying' factor, too.
> But maybe the DFM could default to a popup "Are you sure" with a "[ ] Don't
> ask me again" check box option. Most applications either ask or have undo.
> This has neither so one must be careful or you could accidentally wack a
> heck of a lot of graphs (especially with nested sub processor groups) with
> one accidental hit of the delete key.
>
> On Sat, Oct 31, 2015 at 1:25 AM, Matthew Clarke <matt.clarke.138@gmail.com
> > wrote:
>
>> There are check to make sure you can't delete a processor if it is
>> running or has FlowFiles in any of its connections. There are checks to
>> make sure that connections can not be deleted it they contain FlowFiles
>> also. You are correct that if none of these conditions exist, there is no
>> 'are you sure' second step.  I don't see why this can't be done, but it
>> could also get annoying for users who are constantly changing their graph.
>>
>>       There is also no "undo" feature. NiFi does not lock the graph to a
>> user. At anytime another user can access the graph and make changes at the
>> same time. Whomever hits OK or apply first wins. The other user will lose
>> any changes they were in the process of making, so coordination between
>> user is crucial. Since multiple use can make changes to the same component,
>> how do you undo your change without possibly undoing someone else's
>> change.
>>
>>       The only possibility I see is a very limited undo feature. One that
>> will allow you to undo only the last change made. So if someone else makes
>> a change after you, you will no longer be able to undo your change.
>> On Oct 30, 2015 11:48 PM, "Mark Petronic" <markpetronic@gmail.com> wrote:
>>
>>> With a simple inadvertent key press, you can easily delete a processor
>>> or a whole processor group or set of selected components without even an
>>> "Are you sure?" confirmation and I see no way to 'undo' the mistake. IMO,
>>> deleting should be a two-step process given the amount of effort one might
>>> make building a complex flow. Or, am I missing something here?
>>>
>>
>

Mime
View raw message