nifi-commits mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Rob Moran (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (NIFI-2082) When a node is disconnected from cluster, it should be made extremely obvious in the UI
Date Thu, 23 Jun 2016 18:25:16 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/NIFI-2082?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15346914#comment-15346914
] 

Rob Moran commented on NIFI-2082:
---------------------------------

[~markap14] – in a case like this do all the clustered nodes remain aware of the situation?

* Does the disconnected node know that it _should_ be part of a cluster?
* And do the remaining (connected) nodes in the cluster know that one is missing?

If these answer yes, we can call attention to the cluster icon/node count in the flow status.
The user can view a tooltip when hovering this area for details. I'd recommend doing even
more to let the user know when they try to make a change to a disconnected node, but first
want to make sure each node can be aware of what is happening.

If no, well, that is not good...

> When a node is disconnected from cluster, it should be made extremely obvious in the
UI
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: NIFI-2082
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/NIFI-2082
>             Project: Apache NiFi
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: Core UI
>    Affects Versions: 1.0.0
>            Reporter: Mark Payne
>            Priority: Critical
>             Fix For: 1.0.0
>
>
> Because we now have a zero-master clustering paradigm, it's possible to open the UI on
a node that is disconnected from the cluster. In this case, changes made to the UI will be
accepted, but they will not be replicated to the cluster. As a result, the flow will be out-of-sync
with the cluster, and in order to get the node back to the cluster, the changes would have
to be undone and the work potentially lost (user could create a template to save the changes
but may not know what all they changed).
> The UI should make it very obvious that the node is disconnected and that any changes
that made will not be replicated to the cluster.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message