lucene-solr-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Shawn Heisey <apa...@elyograg.org>
Subject Re: Failure when trying to full sync, out of space ? Doesn't delete old segments before full sync?
Date Tue, 10 Jan 2017 04:14:47 GMT
On 11/28/2016 11:06 AM, Walter Underwood wrote:
> Worst case:
> 1. Disable merging.
> 2. Delete all the documents.
> 3. Add all the documents.
> 4. Enable merging.
>
> After step 3, you have two copies of everything, one deleted copy and one new copy.
> The merge makes a third copy.

Just getting around to replying to this REALLY old thread.

What you've described doesn't really triple the size of the index at the
optimize/forceMerge step.  While it's true that the index is temporarily
three times it's *final* size, it is not three times the pre-optimize
size -- in fact, it would only get 50 percent larger.

Does this mean that the recommendation saying "need 3x the space for
normal operation" is not in fact true?  The Lucene folks seem to be
pretty adamant in their assertion that a merge to one segment can triple
the index size, although I've never seen it actually happen.  Disabling
and re-enabling merging is not what I would call "normal."

Thanks,
Shawn


Mime
View raw message