lucene-commits mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
Subject svn commit: r636711 - /lucene/private/reports/board-report-03-19-2008.txt
Date Thu, 13 Mar 2008 11:03:32 GMT
Author: gsingers
Date: Thu Mar 13 04:03:31 2008
New Revision: 636711

2nd draft of board report

    lucene/private/reports/board-report-03-19-2008.txt   (with props)

Added: lucene/private/reports/board-report-03-19-2008.txt
--- lucene/private/reports/board-report-03-19-2008.txt (added)
+++ lucene/private/reports/board-report-03-19-2008.txt Thu Mar 13 04:03:31 2008
@@ -0,0 +1,32 @@
+The top-level project voted to promote Hadoop to it's own TLP,  Nigel
Daley, Owen O'Malley and Tom White resigned their positions on the Lucene PMC to focus on
the Hadoop PMC.  The TLP also voted to create a new project, named Apache Mahout, to build
scalable machine learning libraries.   Doug Cutting has resigned as Chair of the Lucene PMC.
 Grant Ingersoll has been elected the new chair.
+Lucene Java is a search-engine toolkit.  Development has been very active
+and there have been many core improvements, especially in the area of
+indexing performance and error recovery.  Version 2.3.0 was released on 
+2008-01-24, and a minor bug fix release (2.3.1) was made on 2008-02-23.
+Solr is a full text search server.  We continue to see strong adoption and
+community interest.  Development has been active with many new core
+features being added.  Grant Ingersoll was added as a committer.
+Lucy will develop a shared C-based core for ports of Lucene to other languages, such as Perl,
Python and Ruby.  No progress has been made this quarter.
+Apache Mahout is a new subproject of the Lucene PMC with the goal of building a suite of
scalable machine learning libraries for text and data mining.  Initial reaction to the project
has been positive, with many people expressing interest and several code contributions already
made.  Initial committers are Grant Ingersoll, Otis Gospodnetic, Erik Hatcher, Isabel Drost,
Ozgur Yilmazel, Niranjan Balasubramanian, Karl Wettin and Dawid Weiss.

Propchange: lucene/private/reports/board-report-03-19-2008.txt
    svn:eol-style = native

View raw message