At a minimum these guys are slightly abusing the trademarks.
Otherwise it is a nicer version of openoffice.org website.
Maybe we should forward them our update requests ;-)
kidding because that could be wrong and illegal. INAL.
Regards,
Dave
On Aug 15, 2012, at 10:00 AM, NoOp wrote:
> On 08/02/2012 09:31 AM, Rob Weir wrote:
>> On Thu, Aug 2, 2012 at 11:50 AM, David H. Lipman wrote:
>>> From: "Anastasia Cher"
>>>
>>>
>>>> Hello there,
>>>> I didn't know where to email, so I decided to just email to you. I just
>>>> want to tell that there is an issue, some website
>>>> www.*openoffice*.fm/suitepretends that its you. When I googled Open
>>>> Office it was the first website
>>>> in research so I just clicked and downloaded what they offered. The say
>>>> that it's an Open Office suit. When I finished and installed it, I had
>>>> lots
>>>> of bugs and staff but no office. So I don't know, but these guys are using
>>>> your name for scam.
>>>
>>>
>>> This is going on for numerous software from Adobe Reader to VLC Media
>>> Player.
>>>
>>
>> Right. This is how it seems to work:
>>
>> 1) They buy advertisements on Google and Bing and spam social
>> networks, offering OpenOffice,Free Office and similar keywords. These
>> lure users into going to their page.
>>
>> 2) The pick URL's and brand the site in a way that makes it look official.
>>
>> 3) To download OpenOffice you need to use their special "downloader"
>> tool. The main purpose of the downloader tool is to install other
>> unrelated applications onto your system. It may or may not then
>> install OpenOffice.
>>
>> 4) These other applications are sponsored apps, meaning another
>> company is paying for these applications to be promoted. That is the
>> source of revenue for the websites that do this.
>>
>> I did a blog post on this:
>>
>> http://blogs.apache.org/OOo/entry/how_to_safely_download_apache
>>
>> Note: Users are not powerless. There are places to report such
>> issues. Some are listed in the blog post.
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> -Rob
> ...
>
> That's your old buddies Tightrope Interactive... you know, the guys that
> trademarked Openoffice (85298190) & then later abandoned it...
>
> Domain Information
> Query: openoffice.fm
> Status: Active
> Created: 16 May 2011 15:38 PDT
> Modified: 30 Jun 2012 23:55 PDT
> Expires: 16 May 2013 15:33 PDT
> Name Servers:
> jean.ns.cloudflare.com
> bob.ns.cloudflare.com
> ...
> Admin Contact:
> Name: J et M J et M
> Organisation: J et M
> Address:
> 268 Bush Street #3040
> San Francisco, CA 94104-3503
> US
> Email Address: tech@jm-llc.com
> Phone Number: +1.3212199160
> Fax Number: +1.11111111
>
> (268 Bush Street #3040 is a UPS store)
>
> Domain Name: JM-LLC.COM
> Registrar: GODADDY.COM, LLC
> Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com
> Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com
> Name Server: NS75.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
> Name Server: NS76.DOMAINCONTROL.COM
>
> Administrative Contact:
> J & M, J & M yifeng.zhang@tightropeinteractive.com
> J & M
> 268 Bush Street #3040
> San Francisco, California 94104-3503
> United States
> (321) 219-9160
>
>
>
>
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: ooo-users-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: ooo-users-help@incubator.apache.org
>
---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: ooo-users-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: ooo-users-help@incubator.apache.org