incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Suneel Marthi <smar...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS] Apache Metron podling Graduation
Date Fri, 24 Mar 2017 00:34:11 GMT
+1 binding

On Thu, Mar 23, 2017 at 8:05 PM, Niclas Hedhman <niclas@hedhman.org> wrote:

> +1 (binding)
>
> On Fri, Mar 24, 2017 at 2:32 AM, Casey Stella <cestella@gmail.com> wrote:
>
> > Hi Everyone,
> >
> > The incubating Apache Metron community believes it is time to graduate
> > to TLP.
> >
> > Apache Metron entered incubation in December of 2015. Since then, we've
> > overcome technical challenges to remove Category X dependencies, and
> > made 3 releases. Our most recent release contains binary convenience
> > artifacts. We are a very helpful and engaged community, ready to answer
> > all questions and feedback directed to us via the user list. Through our
> > time in incubation we've added a number of committers and promoted some
> > of them to PPMC membership. We are actively pursuing others. While we do
> > still have issues to address raised by means of the maturity model, all
> > projects are ongoing processes, and we believe we no longer need the
> > incubator to continue addressing these issues.
> >
> > To inform the discussion, here is some basic project information:
> >
> > Project status:
> >   http://incubator.apache.org/projects/metron.html
> >
> > Project website:
> >   https://metron.incubator.apache.org/
> >
> > Project documentation:
> >    https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/METRON/Documentation
> >
> > Maturity assessment:
> >
> > https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/METRON/
> > Apache+Project+Maturity+Model
> >
> > Community Vote to Graduate:
> >
> > https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/540378e2773b1b2ce2af498e56a643
> > 5e547c04948a6b496b9a4ffc71@%3Cdev.metron.apache.org%3E
> >
> > DRAFT of the board resolution is at the bottom of this email
> >
> > Proposed PMC size: 24 members
> >
> > Total number of committers: 6 members
> >
> >
> > 516 commits on develop
> > 34 contributors across all branches
> >
> > dev list averaged ~650 msgs/month for the last 3 months
> >
> >
> > Resolution:
> >
> > Establish the Apache Metron Project
> >
> > WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
> > interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
> > Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
> > Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
> > open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the
> > public, related to a security analytics platform for big data use cases.
> >
> > NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
> > Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Metron Project",
> > be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
> > Foundation; and be it further
> >
> > RESOLVED, that the Apache Metron Project be and hereby is
> > responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
> > related to:
> > (a) A mechanism to capture, store, and normalize any type of security
> > telemetry at extremely high rates.
> > (b) Real time processing and application of enrichments
> > (c) Efficient information storage
> > (d) An interface that gives a security investigator a centralized view
> > of data and alerts passed through the system.
> >
> > RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Metron" be
> > and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
> > serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
> > of the Apache Metron Project, and to have primary responsibility
> > for management of the projects within the scope of
> > responsibility of the Apache Metron Project; and be it further
> >
> > RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
> > hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
> > Apache Metron Project:
> >
> >
> > PPMC:
> > Mark Bittmann (mbittmann)
> > Sheetal Dolas (sheetal_dolas)
> > Debo Dutta (ddutta)
> > Discovery Gerdes (discovery)
> > Andrew Hartnett (dev_warlord)
> > Dave Hirko (dbhirko)
> > Paul Kehrer (reaperhulk)
> > Brad Kolarov (bjkolly)
> > Kiran Komaravolu (kirankom)
> > Larry McCay (lmccay)
> > P. Taylor Goetz (ptgoetz)
> > Ryan Merriman (rmerriman)
> > Michael Perez (mperez)
> > Charles Porter (cporter)
> > Phillip Rhodes (prhodes)
> > Sean Schulte (sirsean)
> > James Sirota (jsirota)
> > Casey Stella (cstella)
> > Ray Urciuoli(rurcioli)
> > Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli (vinodkv)
> > George Vetticaden (gvetticaden)
> > Oskar Zabik (smogg)
> > David Lyle (lyle)
> > Nick Allen (nickallen)
> >
> >
> >
> > NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Casey Stella
> > be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Metron, to
> > serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
> > Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
> > death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
> > or until a successor is appointed; and be it further
> >
> > RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Metron PMC be and hereby is
> > tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
> > encourage open development and increased participation in the
> > Apache Metron Project; and be it further
> >
> > RESOLVED, that the Apache Metron Project be and hereby
> > is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
> > Incubator Metron podling; and be it further
> >
> > RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
> > Incubator Metron podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
> > Project are hereafter discharged.
> >
>
>
>
> --
> Niclas Hedhman, Software Developer
> http://polygene.apache.org <http://zest.apache.org> - New Energy for Java
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message