incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From larry mccay <lmc...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [VOTE] Apache Metron podling Graduation
Date Thu, 30 Mar 2017 01:37:04 GMT
Ooops - I may not be able to claim (binding) for general incubator...

My +1 (non-binding) still holds though. :)

Metron has demonstrated a terrific commitment to the Apache Way.
They get it and are definitely ready for graduation.


On Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 9:33 PM, larry mccay <lmccay@apache.org> wrote:

> +1 (binding)
>
> On Wed, Mar 29, 2017 at 4:15 PM, P. Taylor Goetz <ptgoetz@gmail.com>
> wrote:
>
>> +1 (binding)
>>
>> -Taylor
>>
>> > On Mar 29, 2017, at 10:39 AM, Casey Stella <cestella@gmail.com> wrote:
>> >
>> > Hi Everyone,
>> >
>> > I propose that we graduate Apache Metron (incubating) from the
>> incubator.
>> > The full text of the proposal is below, with requisite modifications
>> > applied from the discussion thread.
>> >
>> > The discuss thread can be found at
>> > https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/e5d106456b28562bdc94762
>> 4c6f33e3281297dfd3803aab3d171bbad@%3Cgeneral.incubator.apache.org%3E
>> >
>> >
>> > Best,
>> >
>> > Casey
>> >
>> > Resolution:
>> >
>> > Establish the Apache Metron Project
>> >
>> > WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
>> > interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
>> > Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
>> > Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
>> > open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the
>> > public, related to a security analytics platform for big data use cases.
>> >
>> > NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
>> > Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Metron Project",
>> > be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
>> > Foundation; and be it further
>> >
>> > RESOLVED, that the Apache Metron Project be and hereby is
>> > responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
>> > related to:
>> > (a) A mechanism to capture, store, and normalize any type of security
>> > telemetry at extremely high rates.
>> > (b) Real time processing and application of enrichments
>> > (c) Efficient information storage
>> > (d) An interface that gives a security investigator a centralized view
>> > of data and alerts passed through the system.
>> >
>> > RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Metron" be
>> > and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
>> > serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
>> > of the Apache Metron Project, and to have primary responsibility
>> > for management of the projects within the scope of
>> > responsibility of the Apache Metron Project; and be it further
>> >
>> > RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
>> > hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
>> > Apache Metron Project:
>> >
>> >
>> > PPMC by Affiliation:
>> >
>> > Hortonworks:
>> >  Sheetal Dolas (sheetal_dolas)
>> >  Ryan Merriman (rmerriman)
>> >  Larry McCay (lmccay)
>> >  P. Taylor Goetz (ptgoetz)
>> >  Nick Allen (nickallen)
>> >  David Lyle (lyle)
>> >  George Vetticaden (gvetticaden)
>> >  James Sirota (jsirota)
>> >  Casey Stella (cstella)
>> >  Michael Perez (mperez)
>> >  Kiran Komaravolu (kirankom)
>> >  Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli (vinodkv)
>> >
>> > Cisco:
>> >  Debo Dutta (ddutta)
>> >  Discovery Gerdes (discovery)
>> >
>> > Rackspace:
>> >  Oskar Zabik (smogg)
>> >  Andrew Hartnett (dev_warlord)
>> >  Paul Kehrer (reaperhulk)
>> >  Sean Schulte (sirsean)
>> >
>> > B23:
>> >  Mark Bittmann (mbittmann)
>> >  Dave Hirko (dbhirko)
>> >  Brad Kolarov (bjkolly)
>> >
>> > Mantech:
>> >  Charles Porter (cporter)
>> >  Ray Urciuoli (rurcioli)
>> >
>> > Fogbeam Labs:
>> >  Phillip Rhodes (prhodes)
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Casey Stella
>> > be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Metron, to
>> > serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
>> > Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
>> > death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
>> > or until a successor is appointed; and be it further
>> >
>> > RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Metron PMC be and hereby is
>> > tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
>> > encourage open development and increased participation in the
>> > Apache Metron Project; and be it further
>> >
>> > RESOLVED, that the Apache Metron Project be and hereby
>> > is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
>> > Incubator Metron podling; and be it further
>> >
>> > RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
>> > Incubator Metron podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
>> > Project are hereafter discharged.
>>
>>
>> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
>> To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
>> For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
>>
>>
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message