incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "John D. Ament" <johndam...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS] Apache Beam podling graduation readiness
Date Sun, 04 Dec 2016 13:47:15 GMT
My gut says graduate, however I have one comment below.

On Sat, Dec 3, 2016 at 10:42 PM Frances Perry <frances@apache.org> wrote:

> >
> > >     * PMC composition:
> > >          * Tyler Akidau <takidau@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Davor Bonaci <davor@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Robert Bradshaw <robertwb@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Ben Chambers <bchambers@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Luke Cwik <lcwik@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Stephan Ewen <sewen@apache.org>, data Artisans
> > >          * Dan Halperin <dhalperi@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Kenneth Knowles <kenn@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Aljoscha Krettek <aljoscha@apache.org>, data Artisans
> > >          * Maximilian Michels <mxm@apache.org>, data Artisans
> > >          * Jean-Baptiste Onofré <jbonofre@apache.org>, Talend
> > >          * Frances Perry <frances@apache.org>, Google
> > >          * Amit Sela <amitsela@apache.org>, PayPal
> > >          * Josh Wills <jwills@apache.org>, Slack
> >
> > Can you please provide current company affiliations of the proposed
> > PMC members?
> >
>

In addition, since its not called out on your project page, which of these
are current PPMC members and which are just committers?  Everyone is listed
as committer on http://incubator.apache.org/projects/beam.html .  I'm a bit
worried about the "private/indirectly" comment made somewhere else (not
mixing public/private emails...)



>
> (Added above)
>
> If you include committers, that adds representation from DataTorrent and
> Smoking Hand, reducing Google representation to 53%.
>
>
I feel like this number.. the fact that it's being counted is a bit odd.
While we want to make sure the community is diverse, I would be hesitant to
add people just because it counters Google's direct influence on the
project.  Even if Google only makes up 20% of a proposed PMC, if it's
housing 90% of the active developers on the project that would still give a
single company higher influence.


>
> > Question #2: who are you proposing as a PMC chair?
> >
>
> Davor Bonaci
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message