incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Jean-Baptiste Onofré ...@nanthrax.net>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS] Graduate Apache Geode (incubating) as a TLP
Date Fri, 04 Nov 2016 14:30:09 GMT
Hi Roman,

Geode looks ready for graduation to me.

+1

Regards
JB

On 11/03/2016 08:47 PM, Roman Shaposhnik wrote:
> Hi!
>
> with the 1.0.0-incubating release officially out (huge kudos
> to the team!) there's an overwhelming sentiment among
> the Apache Geode community and its mentors that
> it is time to consider graduation to the TLP:
>     http://markmail.org/message/y5jcaoykchttloyr
>
> Apache Geode entered incubation in April last year and
> since then it has demonstrated an outstanding willingness
> to be an inclusive, welcoming community that is not afraid
> to work through some really thorny technical challenges
> (like refactoring the core of the system to get rid of LGPL
> dependency) with exemplary understanding of the Apache Way.
> The PPMC has demonstrated a good understanding of growing
> the community by electing 6 individuals as committers and
> PPMC members since last year. In terms of mastering the rules
> of IP governance the community has produced 4 releases
> (together with binary convenience artifacts) demonstrating their
> understanding of ASF's IP policies.
>
> All in all, I'm sure I'll echo my fellow Geode mentors (CCed)
> when I say that from our perspective this project has been
> conducting itself as a true TLP and it we should recognize this
> fact by formally awarding it such a status. This thread, of course,
> is mean to open up the very same discussion that we had
> among the mentors and Geode community to the rest of the IPMC.
> It is a DISCUSS thread so feel free to ask questions/probe, etc.
>
> To get you all going, here's a few data points than may help:
>
> Project status:
>  http://incubator.apache.org/projects/geode.html
>
> Project website:
>   http://geode.incubator.apache.org/
>
> Project documentation:
>    http://geode.incubator.apache.org/docs/guide/about_geode.html
>    http://geode.incubator.apache.org/releases/latest/javadoc/index.html
>
> Maturity assessment:
>  https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/GEODE/Geode+Podling+Maturity+Assessment
>
> DRAFT of the board resolution is at the bottom of this email
>
> Proposed PMC size: 30 members
>
> Total number of committers: 74 members
>
> PMC affiliation (* indicated chair)
>    Ampool (2)
>    EPAM Systems (1)
>    General Motors (1)
>  * Kollective Technology (1)
>    Microsoft (1)
>    Pivotal (22)
>    Silver Spring Networks (1)
>    Newedge (1)
>
> 2734 commits on develop
> 269 PR”s on GitHub
> 92 contributors across all branches
>
> dev list averaged ~650 msgs/month in 2016
> user list averaged ~90 msgs/month in 2016
> 267 unique posters
>
> 1900 issues created
> 1230 issues resolved
>
> committer affiliations
>     active
>           pivotal.io
>           kollective.com
>           ampool.io
>           silverspringnet.com
>
>      occasional
>           snappydata.io
>           newrelic.com
>           google.com
>           microsoft.com
>           weave.works
>           elastic.co
>           dell.com
>           vmware.com
>           brsg.io
>           cobaltdigital.marketing
>           cdkglobal.com
>           dev9.com
>
> Thanks,
> Roman (with my official Geode mentor hat on).
>
> Resolution:
>
> Establish the Apache Geode Project
>
> WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
> interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
> Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
> Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
> open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the
> public, related to a data management platform that provides
> real-time, consistent access to data-intensive applications
> throughout widely distributed cloud architectures.
>
> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
> Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Geode Project",
> be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
> Foundation; and be it further
>
> RESOLVED, that the Apache Geode Project be and hereby is
> responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
> related to a data management platform that provides real-time,
> consistent access to data-intensive applications throughout
> widely distributed cloud architectures.
>
> RESOLVED, that thident, Apache Geode" be
> and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
> serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
> of the Apache Geode Project, and to have primary responsibility
> for management of the projects within the scope of
> responsibility of the Apache Geode Project; and be it further
>
> RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
> hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
> Apache Geode Project:
>
> * Anilkumar Gingade <agingade@apache.org>
> * Anthony Baker <abaker@apache.org>
> * Ashvin Agrawal <ashvin@apache.org>
> * Avinash Dongre <adongre@apache.org>
> * Barry Oglesby < boglesby@apache.org>
> * Bruce Schuchardt <bschuchardt@apache.org>
> * Dan Smith <upthewaterspout@apache.org>
> * Darrel Schneider <dschneider@apache.org>
> * Dave Barnes <dbarnes@apache.org>
> * Eric Shu <eshu11@apache.org>
> * Greg Chase <gregchase@apache.org>
> * Hitesh Khamesra <hiteshkhamesra@apache.org>
> * Jason Huynh <jasonhuynh@apache.org>
> * Jens Deppe <jensdeppe@apache.org>
> * Jianxia Chen <jchen21@apache.org>
> * Jinmei Liao <jinmeiliao@apache.org>
> * John Blum <jxblum@apache.org>
> * Karen Miller <kmiller@apache.org>
> * Konstantin Boudnik <cos@apache.org>
> * Kirk Lund <klund@apache.org>
> * Mark Bretl <mbretl@apache.org>
> * Nabarun Nag <nnag@apache.org>
> * Niall Pemberton <niallp@apache.org>
> * Nitin Lamba <nlamba@apache.org>
> * Roman Shaposhnik <rvs@apache.org>
> * Sai Boorlagadda <sai_boorlagadda@apache.org>
> * Swapnil Bawaskar <sbawaskar@apache.org>
> * Udo Kohlmeyer <udo@apache.org>
> * William Markito <markito@apache.org>
> * Xiaojian Zhou <zhouxj@apache.org>
>
> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Mark Bretl
> be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Geode, to
> serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
> Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
> death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
> or until a successor is appointed; and be it further
>
> RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Geode PMC be and hereby is
> tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
> encourage open development and increased participation in the
> Apache Geode Project; and be it further
>
> RESOLVED, that the Apache Geode Project be and hereby
> is tasked with the miization of the Apache
> Incubator Geode podling; and be it further
>
> RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
> Incubator Geode podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
> Project are hereafter discharged.
>
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
> For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
>

-- 
Jean-Baptiste Onofré
jbonofre@apache.org
http://blog.nanthrax.net
Talend - http://www.talend.com

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org


Mime
View raw message