incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Ted Dunning <ted.dunn...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: [VOTE] Graduate AsterixDB from the Incubator
Date Sat, 09 Apr 2016 18:46:27 GMT
+1

Very nice addition to the APache family.



On Sat, Apr 9, 2016 at 10:47 AM, John D. Ament <john.d.ament@gmail.com>
wrote:

> Sounds good, here's my +1.
>
> John
>
> On Sat, Apr 9, 2016 at 1:33 PM Till Westmann <tillw@apache.org> wrote:
>
> > Yes, indeed, the status page is not accurate. I’ve updated the table
> > to
> > clarify that all committers are PPMC members.
> >
> > Till
> >
> > On 9 Apr 2016, at 9:53, John D. Ament wrote:
> >
> > > So I almost said that this came out of no where, but then found your
> > > email
> > > with the link to the mail thread.
> > >
> > > I think my only concern is that while AsterixDB has added committers,
> > > I
> > > haven't seen them add new PPMC members per the project status page.
> > > Is it
> > > simply misstated on the status page (e.g. committer == ppmc)?
> > >
> > > John
> > >
> > > On Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 10:49 PM Till Westmann <tillw@apache.org>
> > > wrote:
> > >
> > >> Hi,
> > >>
> > >> AsterixDB started incubating a little more than a year ago
> > >> (2015-02-28) [1]
> > >> and the members of the community think that it is ready to graduate
> > >> from
> > >> the
> > >> incubator to be a TLP.
> > >>
> > >> Since starting incubation the community has shipped 2 incubating
> > >> Apache
> > >> releases for AsterixDB and Hyracks:
> > >> - Apache AsterixDB 0.8.7-incubating (2015-10-22)
> > >>   and Hyracks 0.2.16-incubating (2015-09-22)
> > >> - Apache AsterixDB 0.8.8-incubating (2016-02-26)
> > >>   and Hyracks 0.2.17-incubating (2016-02-26)
> > >>
> > >> The AsterixDB community today is open and very active and distributed
> > >> over
> > >> several continents. It has also grown during incubation and Chris
> > >> Hillery
> > >> (2015-10-20), Heri Ramampiaro (2016-01-16), and Michael Blow
> > >> (2016-03-28)
> > >> have been added as committers and PPMC members
> > >>
> > >> AsterixDB's community passed a supporting vote with 26 +1 votes (3 of
> > >> those
> > >> were from the podling's mentors Chris Mattmann, Henry Saputra, and
> > >> Ate
> > >> Douma) and no 0 or -1 votes [2].
> > >>
> > >> The proposed board resolution is attached.
> > >>
> > >> Please vote if the Apache Incubator PMC should recommend the creation
> > >> of
> > >> the
> > >> Apache AsterixDB project to the Board.
> > >>
> > >> [ ] +1 Recommend the creation of the Apache AsterixDB project.
> > >> [ ]  0 Don't care.
> > >> [ ] -1 The Apache AsterixDB podling is not ready to graduate because
> > >> ...
> > >>
> > >> Thanks for your VOTE,
> > >> Till (on behalf of the Apache AsterixDB PPMC).
> > >>
> > >> [1] http://incubator.apache.org/projects/asterixdb.html
> > >> [2] https://s.apache.org/asterixdb-graduation-vote-result
> > >>
> > >> --
> > >>
> > >> The proposed board resolution:
> > >>
> > >> Establish the Apache AsterixDB Project
> > >>
> > >> WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best interests
> > >> of the Foundation and consistent with the Foundation's purpose to
> > >> establish a Project Management Committee charged with the creation
> > >> and maintenance of open-source software, for distribution at no
> > >> charge to the public, related to parallel distributed data management
> > >> technologies for semi-structured data,
> > >>
> > >> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management Committee
> > >> (PMC), to be known as the "Apache AsterixDB Project", be and hereby
> > >> is
> > >> established pursuant to Bylaws of the Foundation; and be it further
> > >>
> > >> RESOLVED, that the Apache AsterixDB Project be and hereby is
> > >> responsible for the creation and maintenance of software related to
> > >> parallel distributed data management technologies for semi-structured
> > >> data; and be it further
> > >>
> > >> RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache AsterixDB" be
> > >> and hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at the
> > >> direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the Apache
> > >> AsterixDB Project, and to have primary responsibility for management
> > >> of the projects within the scope of responsibility of the Apache
> > >> AsterixDB Project; and be it further
> > >>
> > >> RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and hereby are
> > >> appointed to serve as the initial members of the Apache AsterixDB
> > >> Project:
> > >>
> > >>  * Abdullah Alamoudi <amoudi@apache.org>
> > >>  * Ate Douma         <ate@apache.org>
> > >>  * Cameron Samak     <csamak@apache.org>
> > >>  * Chen Li           <chenli@apache.org>
> > >>  * Chris Hillery     <ceej@apache.org>
> > >>  * Chris Mattmann    <mattmann@apache.org>
> > >>  * Heri Ramampiaro   <heri@apache.org>
> > >>  * Ian Maxon         <imaxon@apache.org>
> > >>  * Ildar Absalyamov  <ildar@apache.org>
> > >>  * Jianfeng Jia      <jianfeng@apache.org>
> > >>  * Jochen Wiedmann   <jochen@apache.org>
> > >>  * Keren Ouaknine    <kereno@apache.org>
> > >>  * Michael Blow      <mblow@apache.org>
> > >>  * Mike Carey        <dtabass@apache.org>
> > >>  * Murtadha Hubail   <mhubail@apache.org>
> > >>  * Pouria Pirzadeh   <pouria@apache.org>
> > >>  * Preston Carman    <prestonc@apache.org>
> > >>  * Raman Grover      <raman@apache.org>
> > >>  * Sattam Alsubaiee  <salsubaie@apache.org>
> > >>  * Steven Jacobs     <sjaco002@apache.org>
> > >>  * Taewoo Kim        <wangsaeu@apache.org>
> > >>  * Ted Dunning       <tdunning@apache.org>
> > >>  * Till Westmann     <tillw@apache.org>
> > >>  * Vassilis Tsotras  <tsotras@apache.org>
> > >>  * Vinayak Borkar    <vinayakb@apache.org>
> > >>  * Yingyi Bu         <buyingyi@apache.org>
> > >>  * Young-Seok Kim    <kisskys@apache.org>
> > >>  * Zach Heilbron     <zheilbron@apache.org>
> > >>
> > >> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Till Westmann be
> > >> appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache AsterixDB, to serve
> > >> in accordance with and subject to the direction of the Board of
> > >> Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until death, resignation,
> > >> retirement, removal or disqualification, or until a successor is
> > >> appointed; and be it further
> > >>
> > >> RESOLVED, that the initial Apache AsterixDB PMC be and hereby is
> > >> tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to encourage
> > >> open development and increased participation in the Apache AsterixDB
> > >> Project; and be it further
> > >>
> > >> RESOLVED, that the Apache AsterixDB Project be and hereby is tasked
> > >> with the migration and rationalization of the Apache Incubator
> > >> AsterixDB podling; and be it further
> > >>
> > >> RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
> > >> Incubator AsterixDB podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
> > >> Project are hereafter discharged.
> > >>
> > >> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> > >> To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
> > >> For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
> > >>
> > >>
> >
> > ---------------------------------------------------------------------
> > To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
> > For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
> >
> >
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message