incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Dave <snoopd...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: Fwd: [VOTE] Graduate Usergrid from the incubator
Date Fri, 07 Aug 2015 20:17:25 GMT
Below is a revised TLP resolution for Usergrid for review.  I added to the
list our mentors Jim J and Jake F. I believe the list is complete now.

Also, I removed the below paragraph, which is unnecessary and only exists
because I copied some other project's resolution. We don't need special
Usergrid bylaws, the ASF bylaws are good enough.

       RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Usergrid Project be and hereby
       is tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
       encourage open development and increased participation in the
       Usergrid Project; and be it further

I welcome any suggestions or other feedback on this resolution.

Dave



Apache Usergrid top-level project resolution:

       WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
       interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
       Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
       Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
       open-source software related to the Usergrid BaaS software,
       for distribution at no charge to the public.

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
       Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Usergrid Project",
       be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
       Foundation; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the Apache Usergrid Project be and hereby is
       responsible for the creation and maintenance of open-source
       software related to the Usergrid BaaS software; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Usergrid" be and
       hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve at
       the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the
       Apache Usergrid Project, and to have primary responsibility for
       management of the projects within the scope of responsibility
       of the Apache Usegrid Project; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
       hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
       Apache Usegrid Project:

           * Tim Anglade      <timanglade@apache.org>
           * Askhat Asanaliev <aasanaliev@apache.org>
           * John D. Ament    <johndament@apache.org>
           * Ed Anuff         <edanuff@apache.org>
           * Furkan Bıçak     <fbicak@apache.org>
           * Ryan Bridges     <ryanb@apache.org>
           * Jake Farrell     <jfarrell@apachge.org>
           * Scott Ganyo      <scottganyo@apache.org>
           * Sungju Jin       <sungju@apache.org>
           * Dave Johnson     <snoopdave@apache.org>
           * Alex Karasulu    <akarasulu@apache.org>
           * Salih Kardan     <skardan@apache.org>
           * Jim Jagielski    <jim@apache.org>
           * Shaozhuang Liu   <stliu@apache.org>
           * Nate McCall      <zznate@apache.org>
           * John Mcgibbney   <lewismc@apache.org>
           * Alex Muramoto    <amuramoto@apache.org>
           * Todd Nine        <toddnine@apache.org>
           * Luciano Resende  <lresende@apache.org>
           * Yiğit Şaplı      <yigits@apache.org>
           * Rod Simpson      <rockerston@apache.org>
           * Jeff West        <jeffreyawest@apache.org>

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Todd Nine
       be appointed to the office of Vice President, Usergrid, to serve
       in accordance with and subject to the direction of the Board of
       Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until death,
       resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification, or until
       a successor is appointed; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Usergrid Project be and hereby
       is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
       Incubator Usegrid podling; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that all responsibility pertaining to the Apache
       Incubator Usergrid podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
       PMC are hereafter discharged.








On Fri, Aug 7, 2015 at 3:51 PM Dave <snoopdave@gmail.com> wrote:

> There is no VOTE in progress.
>
> We voted to graduate on the Usergrid dev list, I forwarded the results of
> the vote to this list and added a draft TLP resolution for review. As I
> said when I forwarded the email, I will will call for an IPMC vote shortly.
>
>      http://incubator.apache.org/guides/graduation.html
>
> Dave
>
>
> On Fri, Aug 7, 2015 at 3:35 PM Ted Dunning <ted.dunning@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> On Fri, Aug 7, 2015 at 11:10 AM, Marvin Humphrey <marvin@rectangular.com>
>> wrote:
>>
>> > However, please do not change the text of any VOTE (graduation, entry
>> > into incubation, release approval, anything...) while it is underway.
>> > That retroactively changes the meaning of votes already cast, which is
>> > problematic. There are better ways to be flexible.
>> >
>>
>> To be concrete, some of the ways that I know about include:
>>
>> 1) cancel this vote and start a new one with an edited proposal.  Since
>> the
>> podlings suggested text is effectively only a suggestion just as the
>> resolution that the IPMC provides to the board is just a suggestion, this
>> is a fine procedure
>>
>> 2) start a side vote to include a note asking the board to change the
>> resolution.  This is finicky and not as straightforward as (1).
>>
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message