incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Konstantin Boudnik <...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [DISCUSSION] Graduate Ignite from the Apache Incubator
Date Tue, 21 Jul 2015 18:53:11 GMT
The so-called diversity requirement has been discussed on this list for a
number of times. Most recent is the graduation of Flume project (back in
2012). Here's a quote from that thread (kudos to Roy; for those who want
to look it up in the archives MessageId is 73DB2E64-87D5-4DD5-91FB-403464895AC5@gbiv.com):

[quote]
There is no diversity requirement at the ASF.  There is a behavior
requirement for graduation and a behavior requirement for TLPs.
We must not confuse the two. If the Incubator says that there is a
diversity requirement for graduation, ignore it (or at least figure
out what the docs were supposed to say and then do that).
I'd urge folks to fix the docs, but I know where that leads ...
and I have no cycles to spare.

A diversity requirement would mean that a person's employment
status impacts their ability to participate here.  IOW, it would
create a perverse incentive for them not to be employed.
[/quote]

Regards,
  Cos

On Tue, Jul 21, 2015 at 05:55PM, Pierre Smits wrote:
> It seems that 63% of the podling's PMC is affiliated to 1 organisation
> (Gridgrain).
> 
> Have sufficient grounds been covered to ensure diversity and independece?
> 
> Best regards,
> 
> Pierre Smits
> 
> On Tue, Jul 21, 2015 at 5:13 PM, Dmitriy Setrakyan <dsetrakyan@apache.org>
> wrote:
> 
> > On Tue, Jul 21, 2015 at 4:08 AM, amareshwarisr . <amareshwari@gmail.com>
> > wrote:
> >
> > > Seems the DESCRIPTION_AND_SCOPE of the project is set to " the automated
> > > and managed flow of information between systems."
> > >
> > > I dont see any such on project website -
> > > http://ignite.incubator.apache.org/
> > > Looks like a copy from NIFI's graduation discussion -
> > >
> > >
> > http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_mbox/incubator-general/201506.mbox/%3CCALJK9a4PD%2B3qGGQbbHHyLfY8Ut9BP9VyEDwtnZDSWjpMKiwk9w%40mail.gmail.com%3E
> > > .
> > > You might want to correct it.
> > >
> >
> > Yup, copy-n-paste never works :) Corrected below.
> >
> >
> > >
> > > Correct me if description is fine and  I'm wrong in understanding the
> > > description
> > >
> > > Thanks
> > > Amareshwari
> > >
> > > On Tue, Jul 21, 2015 at 5:06 AM, Dmitriy Setrakyan <
> > dsetrakyan@apache.org>
> > > wrote:
> > >
> > > > Hello Apache Incubator,
> > > >
> > > > At the suggestion of our mentors the Ignite community established
> > > consensus
> > > > and held a successful vote with 14 +1 votes in favor of proposing
> > > > graduation to TLP.
> > > >
> > > > Vote thread:
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > http://apache-ignite-developers.2346864.n4.nabble.com/VOTE-Graduate-Apache-Ignite-from-Incubation-td1539.html
> > > >
> > > > Summary of the vote results:
> > > > +1 (non-binding) = 14
> > > >
> > > >    1. Yakov Zhdanov (PMC)
> > > >    2. Gianfranco Murador (PMC)
> > > >    3. Ira Vasilinets (PMC)
> > > >    4. Nikolai Tichinov (PMC)
> > > >    5. Semyon Boikov (PMC)
> > > >    6. Sergi Vladykin (PMC)
> > > >    7. Alexey Goncharuk (PMC)
> > > >    8. Ognen Duzlevski (PMC)
> > > >    9. Valentin Kulichenko (PMC)
> > > >    10. Nikita Ivanov (PMC)
> > > >    11. Dmitriy Setrakyan (PMC)
> > > >    12. Andrey Novikov (Committer)
> > > >    13. Alexey Kuznetsov (Committer)
> > > >    14. Milap Wadwa
> > > >
> > > > We’d like to initiate this discussion/proposal to establish a consensus
> > > > within the incubator and if appropriate will initiate a vote.
> > > >
> > > > Below is our proposed resolution:
> > > >
> > > > Thank you
> > > > Dmitriy Setrakyan(on behalf of the Apache Ignite PPMC)
> > > >
> > > > SUBJECT: Establish the Apache Ignite TLP
> > > >
> > > >     WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
> > > >     interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
> > > >     Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
> > > >     Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
> > > >     open-source software, for distribution at no charge to
> > > >     the public, related to the automated and managed flow of
> > > >     information between systems.
> > >
> >
> > Should be:
> >
> > ---------
> > "related to delivering an In-Memory Data Fabric - a high-performance,
> > integrated and distributed in-memory platform for computing and transacting
> > on large-scale data sets in real-time"
> >  --------
> >
> > >
> > > >     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
> > > >     Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Ignite Project",
> > > >     be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
> > > >     Foundation; and be it further
> > > >
> > > >     RESOLVED, that the Apache Ignite Project be and hereby is
> > > >     responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
> > > >     related to the automated and managed flow of information
> > > >     between systems and be it further
> > > >
> > > >     RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Ignite" be
> > > >     and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
> > > >     serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
> > > >     of the Apache Ignite Project, and to have primary responsibility
> > > >     for management of the projects within the scope of
> > > >     responsibility of the Apache Ignite Project; and be it further
> > > >
> > > >     RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
> > > >     hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
> > > >     Apache Ignite Project:
> > > >
> > > >     Semyon Boikov (sboikov@apache.org)
> > > >     Konstantin Boudnik (cos@apache.org)
> > > >     Branko Čibej (brane@apache.org)
> > > >     Ognen Duzlevski (maketo@apache.org)
> > > >     Sergey Evdokimov (sevdokimov@apache.org)
> > > >     Alexey Goncharuk (agoncharuk@apache.org)
> > > >     Nikita Ivanov (nivanov30@apache.org)
> > > >     Sergey Khisamov (skh@apache.org)
> > > >     Valentin Kulichenko (vkulichenko@apache.org)
> > > >     Alexey Kuznetsov (akuznetsov@apache.org)
> > > >     Gianfranco Murador (murador@apache.org)
> > > >     Andrey Novikov (anovikov@apache.org)
> > > >     Vladimir Ozerov (vozerov@apache.org)
> > > >     Dmitriy Setrakyan (dsetrakyan@apache.org)
> > > >     Roman Shaposhnik (rvs@apache.org)
> > > >     Ilya Sterin (isterin@apache.org)
> > > >     Nikolai Tikhonov (ntikhonov@apache.org)
> > > >     Irina Vasilinets (ivasilinets@apache.org)
> > > >     Anton Vinogradov (av@apache.org)
> > > >     Sergey Vladykin (svladykin@apache.org)
> > > >     Evans Ye (evansye@apache.org)
> > > >     Yakov Zhdanov (yzhdanov@apache.org)
> > > >
> > > >     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that
> > > >     Dmitriy Setrakyan be appointed to the office of Vice President,
> > > >     Apache Ignite, to serve in accordance with and subject to the
> > > >     direction of the Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the
> > > >     Foundation until death, resignation, retirement, removal or
> > > >     disqualification, or until a successor is appointed;
> > > >     and be it further
> > > >
> > > >     RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Ignite PMC be and hereby is
> > > >     tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
> > > >     encourage open development and increased participation in the
> > > >     Apache Ignite Project; and be it further
> > > >
> > > >     RESOLVED, that the Apache Ignite Project be and hereby
> > > >     is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
> > > >     Incubator Ignite podling; and be it further
> > > >
> > > >     RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
> > > >     Incubator Ignite podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
> > > >     Project are hereafter discharged.
> > > >
> > >
> >

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org


Mime
View raw message