incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Jake Farrell <jfarr...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [VOTE] Graduate Apache Parquet from the Incubator
Date Tue, 14 Apr 2015 13:01:26 GMT
correction, mr vote is all ready on the IPMC list for vote since passing
the PPMC vote

http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_mbox/incubator-general/201504.mbox/%3C552A9797.5070100%40apache.org%3E

-Jake


On Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 8:57 AM, Jake Farrell <jfarrell@apache.org> wrote:

> Hey Ted
> The 21 Parquet PPMC members listed on the proposal come from 8 different
> companies, the new committers added do not all come from the same companies.
>
> There are two different components to Parquet, format and mr. Format has
> been successfully released and mr has just passed a PPMC on Apr 12 and is
> ready for an IPMC vote, not sure why this was not started yet.
>
> The sync up meetings are currently conducted over google hangouts, and
> notes brought back to the dev list. No official decisions are being carried
> out without being put to the list and anyone is welcome to attend.
>
> -Jake
>
>
>
>
>
> On Tue, Apr 14, 2015 at 3:08 AM, Ted Dunning <ted.dunning@gmail.com>
> wrote:
>
>>
>> Could we have some discussion on this first?  Jumping to a vote may be a
>> bit premature (or not ... thus the need to discuss).  I have some questions
>> myself that would prevent me from being able to support the issue right
>> now.  Presumably these can all be resolved, but it is hard to do so under a
>> 72 hour clock, especially since I am in an inconvenient time zone relative
>> to some.
>>
>> For instance, this project started with limited diversity.  Have the
>> additions to the committership improved that or not?
>>
>> The last incubator report had some language about parquet components that
>> had not seen a release yet.  Any word on that?
>>
>> In reviewing the dev list, I see evidence of a "sync'up" meeting that
>> apparently occurs off-list where it seems decisions about release scope are
>> made.  Any comments about that in terms of Apache policy?
>>
>>
>>
>> On Mon, Apr 13, 2015 at 5:46 PM, Jake Farrell <jfarrell@apache.org>
>> wrote:
>>
>>> This thread is to start a vote on the graduation resolution Apache
>>> Parquet
>>> has approved on the dev list with 14 positive votes (11 PPMC (4 from IPMC
>>> members), 3 community)
>>>
>>> Status page: http://incubator.apache.org/projects/parquet.html
>>> Graduation discussion: http://s.apache.org/8qU
>>> Graduation resolution: http://s.apache.org/w7
>>>
>>> Apache Parquet has been apart of the Incubator since May 2014 and in that
>>> time has
>>>
>>> * Had successful IPMC approved releases
>>> * Expanded the PPMC with new members
>>> * Worked and submitted fixes in other Apache projects to improve Parquet
>>> support
>>> * A successful community vote to graduate with 14 positive votes
>>>
>>> I would like to get the voting started with my own +1
>>>
>>> Please vote
>>>
>>> [ ] +1 Graduate Apache Parquet as a TLP
>>> [ ] +0
>>> [ ] -1 Don't graduate Apache Parquet as a TLP becauseā€¦
>>>
>>> Voting will end in 72 hours, i.e. 12:00 UTC on 2015-04-16
>>> http://www.timeanddate.com/countdown/to?iso=20150416T12
>>>
>>> -Jake
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> =========== Board Resolution ==========
>>>
>>> Establish the Apache Parquet Project
>>>
>>> WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
>>> interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
>>> Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
>>> Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
>>> open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the
>>> public, related to a columnar storage format for Hadoop.
>>>
>>> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
>>> Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Parquet Project",
>>> be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
>>> Foundation; and be it further
>>>
>>> RESOLVED, that the Apache Parquet Project be and hereby is
>>> responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
>>> related to a columnar storage format for Hadoop; and be it further
>>>
>>> RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Parquet" be
>>> and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
>>> serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
>>> of the Apache Parquet Project, and to have primary responsibility
>>> for management of the projects within the scope of
>>> responsibility of the Apache Parquet Project; and be it further
>>>
>>> RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
>>> hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
>>> Apache Parquet Project:
>>>
>>>    * Chris Aniszczyk <caniszczyk@apache.org>
>>>    * Ryan Blue <blue@apache.org>
>>>    * Jonathan Coveney <jcoveney@apache.org>
>>>    * Tianshuo Deng <tianshuo@apache.org>
>>>    * Jake Farrell <jfarrell@apache.org>
>>>    * Marcel Kornacker <marcel@apache.org>
>>>    * Mickael Lacour <mlacour@apache.org>
>>>    * Julien Le Dem <julien@apache.org>
>>>    * Alex Levenson <alexlevenson@apache.org>
>>>    * Nong Li <nong@apache.org>
>>>    * Todd Lipcon <todd@apache.org>
>>>    * Chris Mattmann <mattmann@apache.org>
>>>    * Aniket Mokashi <aniket486@apache.org>
>>>    * Lukas Nalezenec <lukas@apache.org>
>>>    * Brock Noland <brock@apache.org>
>>>    * Wesley Graham Peck <wesleypeck@apache.org>
>>>    * Remy Pecqueur <rpecqueur@apache.org>
>>>    * Dmitriy Ryaboy <dvryaboy@apache.org>
>>>    * Roman Shaposhnik <rvs@apache.org>
>>>    * Daniel Weeks <dweeks@apache.org>
>>>    * Tom White <tomwhite@apache.org>
>>>
>>> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Julien Le Dem
>>> be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Parquet, to
>>> serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
>>> Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
>>> death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
>>> or until a successor is appointed; and be it further
>>>
>>> RESOLVED, that the initial Apache Parquet PMC be and hereby is
>>> tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
>>> encourage open development and increased participation in the
>>> Apache Parquet Project; and be it further
>>>
>>> RESOLVED, that the Apache Parquet Project be and hereby
>>> is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
>>> Incubator Parquet podling; and be it further
>>>
>>> RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
>>> Incubator Parquet podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
>>> Project are hereafter discharged.
>>>
>>
>>
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message