incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Hitesh Shah <hit...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [VOTE] Graduate Apache Tez from Apache Incubator to TLP
Date Wed, 02 Jul 2014 04:33:21 GMT
Sorry for the late reply folks.

@Sebb, thanks for catching the issue.
@Chris, will work with a few folks offline to come up with a consistent and clear wording.


Question for the IPMC folks - does this need a cancel and vote restart with the modified resolution?


thanks
— Hitesh


On Jul 1, 2014, at 6:50 AM, Mattmann, Chris A (3980) <chris.a.mattmann@jpl.nasa.gov>
wrote:

> Looks like a good catch Sebb. Both could probably be more specific
> and look similar (maybe a cut/paste from Mesos which is a similar type
> of application?)
> 
> Hitesh et al can you try and come up with a better sentence in the
> graduation resolution to describe Tez and then make sure it's consistent
> in both places noted below?
> 
> Thanks,
> Chris
> 
> ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> Chris Mattmann, Ph.D.
> Chief Architect
> Instrument Software and Science Data Systems Section (398)
> NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory Pasadena, CA 91109 USA
> Office: 168-519, Mailstop: 168-527
> Email: chris.a.mattmann@nasa.gov
> WWW:  http://sunset.usc.edu/~mattmann/
> ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> Adjunct Associate Professor, Computer Science Department
> University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA 90089 USA
> ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: sebb <sebbaz@gmail.com>
> Reply-To: "dev@tez.incubator.apache.org" <dev@tez.incubator.apache.org>
> Date: Tuesday, July 1, 2014 5:13 AM
> To: "general@incubator.apache.org" <general@incubator.apache.org>
> Cc: "dev@tez.incubator.apache.org" <dev@tez.incubator.apache.org>
> Subject: Re: [VOTE] Graduate Apache Tez from Apache Incubator to TLP
> 
>> On 1 July 2014 05:16, Hitesh Shah <hitesh@apache.org> wrote:
>>> Hello folks
>>> 
>>> Tez entered incubation in February, 2013. Since then, we have made
>>> progress towards graduation[1]. The Tez community recently voted
>>> positively towards graduation[2] with 27 +1s.
>>> Of the 27, there were 5 IPMC votes from our mentors:
>>>        - Alan Gates
>>>        - Arun C. Murthy
>>>        - Chris Mattman
>>>        - Chris Douglas
>>>        - Jakob Homan
>>> 
>>> Now, I would like to ask the IPMC to vote for the graduation of Apache
>>> Tez.
>>> 
>>> Please VOTE to indicate if Apache Tez is ready to graduate as a Top
>>> Level Project. The board resolution is included below.
>>> 
>>> [ ] +1 Graduate Apache Tez as a TLP
>>> [ ] +0 Don't care.
>>> [ ] -1 Don't graduate Apache Tez as a TLP becauseŠ
>>> 
>>> The vote will remain open for 72 hours.
>>> 
>>> thanks
>>> ‹ Hitesh Shah ( on behalf of Tez PPMC )
>>> 
>>> [1] 
>>> http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_mbox/incubator-tez-dev/201406.mbox/%3
>>> CCFC4FEF8.16337A%25chris.a.mattmann@jpl.nasa.gov%3E
>>> [2] 
>>> http://mail-archives.apache.org/mod_mbox/incubator-tez-dev/201406.mbox/%3
>>> CCAOapips7pjs_6HiNkWK0Uv0HNNrYDQcG639Dpf9vOJEuTo9UNw@mail.gmail.com%3E
>>> 
>>> Board Resolution:
>>> 
>>> -------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ---------
>>> X. Establish the Apache Tez Project
>>> 
>>> WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
>>> interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
>>> Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
>>> Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
>>> open-source software, for distribution at no charge to the
>>> public, related to fast and flexible large-scale data analysis
>>> on clusters.
>> 
>> Above is one summary of the PMC mission
>> 
>>> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
>>> Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache Tez Project", be
>>> and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the Foundation;
>>> and be it further
>>> 
>>> RESOLVED, that the Apache Tez Project be and hereby is
>>> responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
>>> related to efficient cluster management, resource isolation
>>> and sharing across distributed applications; and be it further
>> 
>> And above is another which is rather different.
>> 
>> Which (if any?) is correct?
>> 
>>> RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache Tez" be
>>> and hereby is created, the person holding such office to serve
>>> at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair of the
>>> Apache Tez Project, and to have primary responsibility for
>>> management of the projects within the scope of responsibility
>>> of the Apache Tez Project; and be it further
>>> RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
>>> hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
>>> Apache Tez Project:
>>> 
>>> * Alan Gates <gates@apache.org>
>>> * Arun C. Murthy <acmurthy@apache.org>
>>> * Ashutosh Chauhan <hashutosh@apache.org>
>>> * Bill Graham <billgraham@apache.org>
>>> * Bikas Saha <bikas@apache.org>
>>> * Chris Douglas <cdouglas@apache.org>
>>> * Chris Mattmann <mattmann@apache.org>
>>> * Daryn Sharp <daryn@apache.org>
>>> * Devaraj Das <ddas@apache.org>
>>> * Gopal Vijayaraghavan <gopalv@apache.org>
>>> * Gunther Hagleitner <gunther@apache.org>
>>> * Hitesh Shah <hitesh@apache.org>
>>> * Jitendra Pandey <jitendra@apache.org>
>>> * Jason Lowe <jlowe@apache.org>
>>> * Jakob Homan <jghoman@apache.org>
>>> * Julien Le Dem <julien@apache.org>
>>> * Kevin Wilfong <kevinwilfong@apache.org>
>>> * Mike Liddell <mliddell@apache.org>
>>> * Mohammad Kamrul Islam <kamrul@apache.org>
>>> * Namit Jain <namit@apache.org>
>>> * Nathan Roberts <nroberts@apache.org>
>>> * Owen O¹Malley <omalley@apache.org>
>>> * Rajesh Balamohan <rbalamohan@apache.org>
>>> * Robert Evans <bobby@apache.org>
>>> * Rohini Palaniswamy <rohini@apache.org>
>>> * Siddharth Seth <sseth@apache.org>
>>> * Tassapol Athiapinya <tassapola@apache.org>
>>> * Thomas Graves <tgraves@apache.org>
>>> * Tom White <tomwhite@apache.org>
>>> * Vikram Dixit <vikram@apache.org>
>>> * Vinod Kumar Vavilapalli <vinodkv@apache.org>
>>> 
>>> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Hitesh Shah be
>>> appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache Tez, to
>>> serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
>>> Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
>>> death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification, or
>>> until a successor is appointed; and be it further
>>> 
>>> RESOLVED, that the Apache Tez Project be and hereby is
>>> tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
>>> Incubator Tez podling; and be it further
>>> 
>>> RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
>>> Incubator Tez podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
>>> Project are hereafter discharged.
>>> 
>>> -------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ---------
>>> 
>>> ---------------------------------------------------------------------
>>> To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
>>> For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org
>>> 
> 


---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org


Mime
View raw message