incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Mohammad Nour El-Din <mn...@apache.org>
Subject [VOTE] Apache BVal as a TLP
Date Wed, 08 Feb 2012 14:39:26 GMT
Hi...

   It has been discussed, since a while, about the graduation of Apache
BVal, whether to graduate to a TLP or Subproject and whether it is time or
not, [1], [2] and [3].
In the past few weeks there has been a [VOTE], [4], which formally
discussed the graduation to a TLP project. Result announcement can be found
here, [5]. It also has been decided to name the project Apache BVal [6].
The resolution charter content has been discussed and reviewed here [7].

*NOTE*: As per Niall's request, his name has been removed from the proposed
PMC [8].

The Apache Bean Validation community sees it is time to request an IPMC
[VOTE] on recommending this resolution [9] to the ASF board.

Accordingly, would you please cast your vote:

[ ] +1 to recommend Bean Validation's graduation
[ ]  0 don't care
[ ] -1 no, don't recommend yet, (because...)

The vote will be open for 72 hours.

[1] - http://s.apache.org/oTC
[2] - http://s.apache.org/I8C
[3] - http://s.apache.org/EQE
[4] - http://s.apache.org/rU
[5] - http://s.apache.org/7Sw
[6] - http://s.apache.org/tY
<http://markmail.org/message/kzqgd7ff7t6p62va>
[7] - *http://s.apache.org/49R*
[8] - http://s.apache.org/JYS
[9] - See below:

## Resolution to create a TLP from graduating Incubator podling

    X. Establish the Apache BVal Project

 WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
open-source software related to the Bean Validation
Specification and its implementation as Apache BVal
for distribution at no charge to the public.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache BVal Project",
be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
Foundation; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Apache BVal Project be and hereby is
responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
related to creating an implementation compliant with the
Bean Validation Specification and a library of pre-developed
validators and extensions; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache BVal" be
and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
of the Apache BVal Project, and to have primary responsibility
for management of the projects within the scope of
responsibility of the Apache BVal Project; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
Apache BVal Project:

   - Albert Lee <allee8285@apache.org>
   - Carlos Vara Callau <carlosvara@apache.org>
   - David Jencks <djencks@apache.org>
   - Donald Woods <dwoods@apache.org>
   - Gerhard Petracek <gpetracek@apache.org>
   - Jeremy Bauer <jrbauer@apache.org>
   - Kevan Lee Miller <kevan@apache.org>
   - Luciano Resende <lresende@apache.org>
   - Matthias Wessendorf <matzew@apache.org>
   - Matthew Jason Benson <mbenson@apache.org>
   - Mohammad Nour El-Din <mnour@apache.org>
   - Roman Stumm <romanstumm@apache.org>
   - Simone Tripodi <simonetripodi@apache.org>
   - Mark Struberg <struberg@apache.org>

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Matthew Jason Benson
be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache BVal, to
serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
or until a successor is appointed; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the initial Apache BVal PMC be and hereby is
tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
encourage open development and increased participation in the
Apache BVal Project; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Apache BVal Project be and hereby
is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
Incubator Bean Validation podling; and be it further

RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
Incubator Bean Validation podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
Project are hereafter discharged.
-- 
Thanks
- Mohammad Nour
----
"Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving"
- Albert Einstein

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message