incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Marshall Schor <...@schor.com>
Subject [Discuss] Apache UIMA as a TLP
Date Wed, 17 Feb 2010 13:27:22 GMT
Greetings,

The Apache UIMA community feels it is ready to graduate (see
http://markmail.org/thread/pmmf6gtr7z47ivd2 ). We have prepared the
following resolution, and would like to get feedback before proposing a
formal vote here.

X. Establish the Apache UIMA Project

       WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
       interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
       Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
       Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
       open-source software related to the analysis of unstructured
       data, guided by the UIMA Oasis Standard, for distribution at
       no charge to the public.

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
       Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache UIMA Project",
       be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
       Foundation; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the Apache UIMA Project be and hereby is
       responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
       related to the analysis of unstructured data, guided by
       the UIMA Oasis Standard, and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache UIMA" be
       and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
       serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
       of the Apache UIMA Project, and to have primary responsibility
       for management of the projects within the scope of
       responsibility of the Apache UIMA Project; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
       hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
       Apache UIMA Project:

         * Adam Lally                <alally@apache.org>
         * Bhavani Iyer              <bhavani@apache.org>
         * Burn Lewis                <burn@apache.org>
         * Edward Epstein            <eae@apache.org>
         * Jaroslaw Cwiklik          <cwiklik@apache.org>
         * Joern Kottmann            <joern@apache.org>
         * Jukka Zitting             <jukka@apache.org>
         * Ken Coar                  <coar@apache.org>
         * Marshall Schor            <schor@apache.org>
         * Michael Baessler          <mbaessler@apache.org>
         * Sam Ruby                  <rubys@apache.org>
         * Thilo Goetz               <twgoetz@apache.org>
         * Tommaso Teofili           <tommaso@apache.org>
         * Tong Fin                  <tongfin@apache.org>

       NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Marshall Schor
       be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache UIMA, to
       serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
       Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
       death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
       or until a successor is appointed; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the initial Apache UIMA PMC be and hereby is
       tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
       encourage open development and increased participation in the
       Apache UIMA Project; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that the Apache UIMA Project be and hereby
       is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
       Incubator UIMA podling; and be it further

       RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
       Incubator UIMA podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
       Project are hereafter discharged.

Thanks.

-Marshall Schor



---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org


Mime
View raw message