incubator-general mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Davanum Srinivas" <dava...@gmail.com>
Subject [VOTE] Proposal for Apache Ode
Date Sat, 18 Feb 2006 04:02:59 GMT
THE FOLLOWING PROPOSAL HAS BEEN SENT TO THE APACHE INCUBATOR PMC via
the general@incubator.apache.org mail list. This email is meant for
VOTE'ing on the proposal, If you have something to say, *PLEASE* start
a new thread and don't hijack this thread.

Note to all :

We have established a list for discussions, So unless
your comment is directed to the general Incubator community or the
Incubator PMC, please post everything Ode-related to :

ode-dev@incubator.apache.org

You can subscribe by sending an email to

ode-dev-subscribe@incubator.apache.org

Until this proposal has been accepted by the Apache Incubator PMC,
these lists are provisional and do not constitute official lists for
the project.

= PROJECT PROPOSAL =

Ode - Orchestration Director Engine

"A lyric poem of some length, usually of a serious or meditative nature
and having an elevated style and formal stanzaic structure". - American
Heritage Dictionary

We are proposing an orchestration service that implements the WS-BPEL
specification. The implementation will also support Message/Event to
process correlation

The project proposal includes development of an orchestration engine
abstraction to standard externally defined interfaces/bindings. The
interface implementations and/or bindings will enable the orchestration
service to be plugged into various service bus or component
architectures.

= RATIONALE =

For a complete SOA stack, course-grained, long lived, service
orchestration is an important aspect of service interaction.  WS-BPEL is
the standard description language for describing this level of service
interaction.  While there is a lot of ongoing effort in Apache towards
solving the assembly and bus architecture issues of SOA, the higher
level orchestration integration aspect could be better served.

= INITIAL SOURCE =

The initial source for Ode originates from a Sybase donation and the PXE
BPEL 2.0 engine from Intalio.

The Sybase donation generically
implements a superset of the academically recognized workflow patterns
that are a superset of WSBPEL yet adhere to specific WSBPEL v1.1
language constructs. The initial source contribution does not require
any WS-BPEL extensions and is opaque with respect to the orchestration
process context types.  The initial source fully implements the BPEL
v1.1 specification however there are some things to do:

 1. Implement specific service bus plug-ins.
 2. Implement a non-J2EE persistence mechanism for stateful processes
    running outside a J2EE container.
 3. Port to BPEL 2.0 once the specification is public.

The Intalio PXE BPEL 2.0 engine is currently licensed under the CPL open
source license, and has been integrated into third-party
products/projects such as Sun's Java Studio Enterprise and Apache
ServiceMix.

= RESOURCES TO BE CREATED =

 * SVN Repository
 * JIRA
 * Mailing Lists
 * Official Build Systems

= ALIGNMENT =

We propose growing the Apache SOA stack through integration with
ServiceMix, Axis, Tuscany, Celtix, etc ...

The proposed implementation will solely focus on service orchestration.
We will implement the appropriate plug-in points for a specific ESB or
component architecture. This would include exposing BPEL definitions
as a service, enable the consumption of services by a BPEL process and
exposure of BPEL management services.

= AVOIDING THE WARNING SIGNS =

== Orphaned products: ==

The core of the donated code is used within a commercially viable
product and receives constant feedback.  The project will be actively
supported both by the current committers and those in the community
actively seeking to leverage orchestration with the SOA stack. The
BPEL 2.0 specification is a diverse and active community and we
anticipate continued interest in the orchestration of Web Services and
integration with other Apache projects.

The Eclipse foundation has formed a BPEL tooling project
(http://www.eclipse.org/bpel/) that will help visualize service
orchestration and add to service orchestration interest.

== Inexperience with open source: ==

Many of the current committers have experience working with open source
projects and communities and the leaders of this project are long time
ASF contributors. We do not expect any difficulty in executing under
normal meritocracy rules.

== Homogenous developers: ==

The initial contributions are developed by Sybase and Intalio employees
but there is a strong support of developers wishing to work on the code
from the current Geronimo, ServiceMix and Agila projects as well as
developers from various companies:  Envoi Solutions, IBM, Intalio,
LogicBlaze, Sybase, Unity Systems, Virtuas, and WSO2.

== No ties to other Apache products: ==

We are anticipating that the service orchestration engine will be used
within a larger SOA stack (i.e. ServiceMix, Tuscany, Synapse). To that
end we will actively work with other projects to define and implement
the appropriate plug-in points/bindings/abstractions orchestration. The
default standards based plugin architecture for integration components
is JBI (JSR 208) which we will be tackling first. Other kinds of plugins
could be created over time.

For QoS features the Ode project will leverage Geronimo backbones
(transaction management, security, threading).

= COMMITTERS =

The following individuals have expressed interest in  participating as
committers:

 * Adrian Co (LogicBlaze), aco@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Alan Cabrera (Simula Labs), adc@apache.org - Member of Geronimo PMC
   and Directory Committer
 * Bill Flood (Sybase), bill.f.flood@gmail.com
 * Bruce Snyder (LogicBlaze), bsynder@apache.org - Member of Geronimo PMC
 * Cory Harper (Sybase), cory.harper@gmail.com
 * Dain Sundstrom (IBM) dain@apache.org - Member of Geronimo PMC and
   JDO Committer
 * Dan Diephouse (Envoi Solutions), ddiephouse@apache.org - ServiceMix
   Committer
 * Hiram Chirino (LogicBlaze), chirino@apache.org - Member of Geronimo
   PMC
 * George Gastaldi, gastaldi@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Guillaume Nodet (LogicBlaze), gnodet@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Jan-Hua Chu (Sybase), jchu@sybase.com
 * Jeff Genender (Virtuas), jgenender@apache.org - Member of Geronimo
   PMC
 * John Childs (Sybase), John.childs@sybase.com
 * Jonas Lim (LogicBlaze), jlim@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Joseph Gapuz (LogicBlaze), jgapuz@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Lance Waterman (Sybase), lance_lw@yahoo.com
 * Matthieu Riou, mriou@apache.org - Agila Committer
 * Merwin Yap (LogicBlaze), myap@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Patrick Villacorta (LogicBlaze), pvillacorta@apache.org - ServiceMix
   Committer
 * Philip Dodds (Unity Systems), pdodds@apache.org - ServiceMix
   Committer
 * Rob Davies (LogicBlaze), rdavies@apache.org - ServiceMix Committer
 * Sandip Ghayal (Sybase), sghayal@sybase.com
 * Assaf Arkin (Intalio), arkin@intalio.com
 * Alex Boisvert (Intalio), boisvert@intalio.com
 * Jacques-Alexandre Gerber (Intalio), gerber@intalio.com
 * Holger Hoffstaette (Intalio), holger@wizards.de
 * Iwan Memruk (Intalio), imemruk@lohika.odessa.ua
 * Maciej Szefler (Intalio), mbs@intalio.com
 * Matthieu Riou (Intalio), matthieu.riou@gmail.com
 * Nazar Stasiv (Intalio), nstasiv@lohika.lviv.ua
 * Olexandr Zakordonskyy (Intalio), ozak@lohika.lviv.ua
 * Oleg Zenzin (Intalio), ozenzin@lohika.odessa.ua
 * Paul Fremantle (WSO2), pzf@apache.org - WS Committer
 * Sanjiva Weerawarana (WSO2), sanjiva@apache.org - WS Committer
 * Paul Brown, paulrbrown@gmail.com

= PROPOSED APACHE SPONSOR =

We kindly request the Apache Incubator PMC to accept this project.

= MENTORS =

These individuals will participate as Incubator Mentors

 * Geir Magnusson Jr.
 * Davanum Srinivas
 * James Strachan


--
Davanum Srinivas : http://wso2.com/blogs/

---------------------------------------------------------------------
To unsubscribe, e-mail: general-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: general-help@incubator.apache.org


Mime
View raw message