incubator-cloudstack-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Alena Prokharchyk <Alena.Prokharc...@citrix.com>
Subject Re: Stop instance is destroying my VM
Date Tue, 16 Oct 2012 17:26:50 GMT
On 10/16/12 10:19 AM, "Min Chen" <min.chen@citrix.com> wrote:

>According to Gavin, stopVM has already deleted vm metadata from xenserver
>database, what extra cleanup is done in expunge call besides destroying
>vm volumes? I guess that my confusion is this: for a normal end-user, how
>can he relate our CloudStack UI exposed operations (stop and destroy) to
>similar operations(shutdown and destroy) exposed in XenCenter UI?


Expunge just cleans up the volumes from the primary storage. I believe in
Xen case the SR cleanup is also being done as a part of it. Check
CitrixResourceBase code for more details.

> 
>
>Thanks
>-min
>
>-----Original Message-----
>From: Alena Prokharchyk [mailto:Alena.Prokharchyk@citrix.com]
>Sent: Tuesday, October 16, 2012 10:08 AM
>To: cloudstack-dev@incubator.apache.org
>Subject: Re: Stop instance is destroying my VM
>
>On 10/16/12 10:04 AM, "Min Chen" <min.chen@citrix.com> wrote:
>
>>Thanks Alena, So destroying an already stopped VM is just updating
>>CloudStack DB without interacting with hypervisor, do we send
>>hypervisor command when we expunge the destroyed VM?
>
>Yes.
>
>>
>>Thanks
>>-min
>>
>>On 10/16/12 9:54 AM, "Alena Prokharchyk" <Alena.Prokharchyk@citrix.com>
>>wrote:
>>
>>>Forgot to mention: if Destroy command is called on vm in Running
>>>state,
>>>cloudStack:
>>>
>>>* Stops vm on the backend (just the way we do when StopVm command is
>>>executed, so you no longer see the vm on the hypervisor)
>>>* marks vm as Destroyed in the DB.
>>>
>>>On 10/16/12 9:53 AM, "Alena Prokharchyk"
>>><Alena.Prokharchyk@citrix.com>
>>>wrote:
>>>
>>>>On 10/16/12 9:46 AM, "Min Chen" <min.chen@citrix.com> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>Thanks Lee for clarification. Then my next natural question is: what
>>>>>is the difference between stop instance and destroy instance (which
>>>>>are also shown on CloudStack UI)?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>cloudStack doesn't send any commands to the backend on DestroyVm
>>>>command.
>>>>The vm is marked as Destroyed in the DB, the regular user can't see
>>>>it any more. The vm can be recovered by the ROOT admin in the
>>>>"expunge.delay"
>>>>period of time (configurable, 1 day by default). When recoverVm
>>>>command is executed, the vm goes back to Stopped state.
>>>>
>>>>If no recover was called on vm in Destroyed state, it will get
>>>>expunged after expunge.delay. Expunge means that all vm's volumes
>>>>will get destroyed on the primary storage, and the vm will be marked
>>>>as Removed in the DB.
>>>>
>>>>-Alena.
>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>-min
>>>>>
>>>>>On 10/15/12 7:33 PM, "Gavin Lee" <gavin.lxh@gmail.com> wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>>It's by design, when you stop a VM (advanceStop() in
>>>>>>VirtualMachineManagerImpl) in CloudStack UI, it will delete all the
>>>>>>vm metadata info from xenserver database, it will reconstruct the
>>>>>>vm profile to xenserver db when you start again (advanceStart() in
>>>>>>VirtualMachineManagerImpl).
>>>>>>
>>>>>>It's easy to keep vm profile consistency since the only reference
>>>>>>is cloudstack database.
>>>>>>
>>>>>>On Tue, Oct 16, 2012 at 6:12 AM, Min Chen <min.chen@citrix.com>
>>>>>>wrote:
>>>>>>> Hi there,
>>>>>>>                 What did we internally invoke when user is
>>>>>>>stopping VM instance from CloudStack UI? It seems that it did
more
>>>>>>>than shutdown VM from XenCenter. After this operation, my VM
>>>>>>>disappeared from XenCenter console. If I manually do shutdown
from
>>>>>>>XenCenter UI, I can see that my VM is still there with stopped
>>>>>>>status.
>>>>>>>                 Thanks
>>>>>>>                 -min
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>>--
>>>>>>Gavin
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>
>



Mime
View raw message