incubator-cloudstack-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Min Chen <min.c...@citrix.com>
Subject RE: Stop instance is destroying my VM
Date Tue, 16 Oct 2012 17:19:32 GMT
According to Gavin, stopVM has already deleted vm metadata from xenserver database, what extra
cleanup is done in expunge call besides destroying vm volumes? I guess that my confusion is
this: for a normal end-user, how can he relate our CloudStack UI exposed operations (stop
and destroy) to similar operations(shutdown and destroy) exposed in XenCenter UI? 

Thanks
-min

-----Original Message-----
From: Alena Prokharchyk [mailto:Alena.Prokharchyk@citrix.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, October 16, 2012 10:08 AM
To: cloudstack-dev@incubator.apache.org
Subject: Re: Stop instance is destroying my VM

On 10/16/12 10:04 AM, "Min Chen" <min.chen@citrix.com> wrote:

>Thanks Alena, So destroying an already stopped VM is just updating 
>CloudStack DB without interacting with hypervisor, do we send 
>hypervisor command when we expunge the destroyed VM?

Yes.

>
>Thanks
>-min
>
>On 10/16/12 9:54 AM, "Alena Prokharchyk" <Alena.Prokharchyk@citrix.com>
>wrote:
>
>>Forgot to mention: if Destroy command is called on vm in Running 
>>state,
>>cloudStack:
>>
>>* Stops vm on the backend (just the way we do when StopVm command is 
>>executed, so you no longer see the vm on the hypervisor)
>>* marks vm as Destroyed in the DB.
>>
>>On 10/16/12 9:53 AM, "Alena Prokharchyk" 
>><Alena.Prokharchyk@citrix.com>
>>wrote:
>>
>>>On 10/16/12 9:46 AM, "Min Chen" <min.chen@citrix.com> wrote:
>>>
>>>>Thanks Lee for clarification. Then my next natural question is: what 
>>>>is the difference between stop instance and destroy instance (which 
>>>>are also shown on CloudStack UI)?
>>>
>>>
>>>cloudStack doesn't send any commands to the backend on DestroyVm 
>>>command.
>>>The vm is marked as Destroyed in the DB, the regular user can't see 
>>>it any more. The vm can be recovered by the ROOT admin in the 
>>>"expunge.delay"
>>>period of time (configurable, 1 day by default). When recoverVm 
>>>command is executed, the vm goes back to Stopped state.
>>>
>>>If no recover was called on vm in Destroyed state, it will get 
>>>expunged after expunge.delay. Expunge means that all vm's volumes 
>>>will get destroyed on the primary storage, and the vm will be marked 
>>>as Removed in the DB.
>>>
>>>-Alena.
>>>
>>>>
>>>>-min
>>>>
>>>>On 10/15/12 7:33 PM, "Gavin Lee" <gavin.lxh@gmail.com> wrote:
>>>>
>>>>>It's by design, when you stop a VM (advanceStop() in
>>>>>VirtualMachineManagerImpl) in CloudStack UI, it will delete all the 
>>>>>vm metadata info from xenserver database, it will reconstruct the 
>>>>>vm profile to xenserver db when you start again (advanceStart() in 
>>>>>VirtualMachineManagerImpl).
>>>>>
>>>>>It's easy to keep vm profile consistency since the only reference 
>>>>>is cloudstack database.
>>>>>
>>>>>On Tue, Oct 16, 2012 at 6:12 AM, Min Chen <min.chen@citrix.com>
wrote:
>>>>>> Hi there,
>>>>>>                 What did we internally invoke when user is 
>>>>>>stopping VM instance from CloudStack UI? It seems that it did more

>>>>>>than shutdown VM from XenCenter. After this operation, my VM 
>>>>>>disappeared from XenCenter console. If I manually do shutdown from

>>>>>>XenCenter UI, I can see that my VM is still there with stopped 
>>>>>>status.
>>>>>>                 Thanks
>>>>>>                 -min
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>--
>>>>>Gavin
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>
>



Mime
View raw message