The practice of deleting the system datadir and setting the token in the configuration (so that we're not losing it) can be treated as a safe(!) operation if we're OK to lose the hints? Or are there other things to be aware of?
... but blowing away your saved token is a great way to lose data if
you don't know what you're doing.
On Mon, Nov 15, 2010 at 8:17 AM, Gary Dusbabek <email@example.com> wrote:
> Mostly these things: stored schema information, cached cluster info,
> the token, hints. Everything but the hints can be replaced.
> On Mon, Nov 15, 2010 at 06:29, Utku Can Topçu <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote:
>> Hello All,
>> I'm wondering before restarting the a node in a cluster. If I delete the
>> system keyspace, what data would I be losing, would I be losing anything?
Project Chair, Apache Cassandra
co-founder of Riptano, the source for professional Cassandra support