incubator-ambari-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Yusaku Sako (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Updated] (AMBARI-1193) If Install fails, allow user to go back to any previous step so that the user can retry install with different configuration parameters
Date Mon, 21 Jan 2013 20:38:12 GMT

     [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/AMBARI-1193?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel
]

Yusaku Sako updated AMBARI-1193:
--------------------------------

    Description: 
Once overall install fails, allow the user can go back to any step in the Install Wizard.
Current navigation lockdowns should still apply, such as:

* While deploy is in progress (both install and start phases), the user cannot navigate to
any other step.
* Once deploy succeeds, the user can proceed to Step 10 but cannot go back to a previous step.

We need to invoke DELETE on the existing cluster, if any. This should be part of the deploy
prep (upon clicking "Deploy" in Step 8), to be executed first.

Notes:
* Since the user can go all the way back to Step 1 and change the cluster name, we need to
make sure that we are deleting the existing cluster with the correct name.
* Note that the changes apply only to Install Wizard; Add Hosts navigation should not change.


    
> If Install fails, allow user to go back to any previous step so that the user can retry
install with different configuration parameters
> ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: AMBARI-1193
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/AMBARI-1193
>             Project: Ambari
>          Issue Type: Improvement
>          Components: client
>    Affects Versions: 1.2.0
>            Reporter: Yusaku Sako
>            Assignee: Yusaku Sako
>            Priority: Critical
>             Fix For: 1.3.0
>
>
> Once overall install fails, allow the user can go back to any step in the Install Wizard.
> Current navigation lockdowns should still apply, such as:
> * While deploy is in progress (both install and start phases), the user cannot navigate
to any other step.
> * Once deploy succeeds, the user can proceed to Step 10 but cannot go back to a previous
step.
> We need to invoke DELETE on the existing cluster, if any. This should be part of the
deploy prep (upon clicking "Deploy" in Step 8), to be executed first.
> Notes:
> * Since the user can go all the way back to Step 1 and change the cluster name, we need
to make sure that we are deleting the existing cluster with the correct name.
> * Note that the changes apply only to Install Wizard; Add Hosts navigation should not
change.

--
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
If you think it was sent incorrectly, please contact your JIRA administrators
For more information on JIRA, see: http://www.atlassian.com/software/jira

Mime
View raw message