impala-reviews mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "John Russell (Code Review)" <ger...@cloudera.org>
Subject [Impala-ASF-CR] [DOCS] Tighten up advice about first COMPUTE INCREMENTAL STATS
Date Fri, 06 Oct 2017 21:26:44 GMT
John Russell has posted comments on this change. ( http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/7999 )

Change subject: [DOCS] Tighten up advice about first COMPUTE INCREMENTAL STATS
......................................................................


Patch Set 2:

(3 comments)

OK, I think this is about is far as we can go given the scope of the original request, to
clarify that you use CS or CIS but not both. I got more details consulting with Alex but that
would require something like a tutorial or deep dive to cover what's happening and the tradeoffs
for each aspect.

http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/7999/2/docs/shared/impala_common.xml
File docs/shared/impala_common.xml:

http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/7999/2/docs/shared/impala_common.xml@1233
PS2, Line 1233:         When you run <codeph>COMPUTE INCREMENTAL STATS</codeph>
on a table for the first time,
> I suggest some minor rephrasing to drive home the "don't switch mantra" a l
Done


http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/7999/2/docs/shared/impala_common.xml@1245
PS2, Line 1245:         added or inserted into, you can run <codeph>COMPUTE INCREMENTAL
STATS</codeph> for the active
> Sorry my phrasing might have been misleading. By "active" partitions I mean
OK, after consulting with Alex I'm paring this wording way back. Just too many ways that someone
could do extra work that was counterproductive or didn't have the benefit that they assumed.


http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/7999/3/docs/topics/impala_partitioning.xml
File docs/topics/impala_partitioning.xml:

http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/7999/3/docs/topics/impala_partitioning.xml@623
PS3, Line 623: is a shortcut for partitioned tables that works on a
             :         subset of partitions rather than the entire table.
> How about:
Done



-- 
To view, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/7999
To unsubscribe, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/settings

Gerrit-Project: Impala-ASF
Gerrit-Branch: master
Gerrit-MessageType: comment
Gerrit-Change-Id: Ia53a6518ce5541e5c9a2cd896856ce042a599b03
Gerrit-Change-Number: 7999
Gerrit-PatchSet: 2
Gerrit-Owner: John Russell <jrussell@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Alex Behm <alex.behm@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Greg Rahn <grahn@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: John Russell <jrussell@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Mostafa Mokhtar <mmokhtar@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Silvius Rus <srus@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Vuk Ercegovac <vercegovac@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Comment-Date: Fri, 06 Oct 2017 21:26:44 +0000
Gerrit-HasComments: Yes

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, 8-Bit, 0 bytes)
View raw message