impala-reviews mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "John Russell (Code Review)" <ger...@cloudera.org>
Subject [Impala-ASF-CR] Release note updates for Impala 2.8
Date Mon, 30 Jan 2017 18:23:44 GMT
John Russell has posted comments on this change.

Change subject: Release note updates for Impala 2.8
......................................................................


Patch Set 3:

(5 comments)

Only minor changes (trailing spaces) to come in next patch set. Right now I'm stuck at "failed
to push some refs", so that might not be today.

http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/5668/3/docs/topics/impala_incompatible_changes.xml
File docs/topics/impala_incompatible_changes.xml:

Line 56:   <concept rev="2.8.0" id="incompatible_changes_28x">
> I do not see an answer to this yet.
These are all from JIRAs that are marked 'fixed in 2.8.0' and/or coding work completed back
in December, before 2.8.0 was branched off. Is there an additional round of checking you are
thinking of? The current behavior is as described elsewhere in the docs. The previous behavior
(at least for the Kudu-related bullets) is from the impala_kudu fork.


PS3, Line 58: Impala Incompatible Changes Introduced in Impala 2.8.x
> There was something I saw relating to cross-reference links, but I think th
Done


Line 1523:   <concept id="incompatible_changes_07" audience="hidden">
> My experience with the CHANGES files in the root directories of open-source
Let's continue this discussion as part of the general cleanup of Cloudera-specific info. That
is, if we preserve some historical info as-is, we'll have to adjust expectations a little
bit for how many instances of Cloudera / CDH / Cloudera Manager remain in the source files.


http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/5668/6/docs/topics/impala_incompatible_changes.xml
File docs/topics/impala_incompatible_changes.xml:

Line 71:             such as <codeph>COMPRESSION</codeph>, <codeph>DEFAULT</codeph>,
and <codeph>ENCODING</codeph>, that
> new spaces at end of lines
Done. I have a pre-commit hook that suppresses these but haven't adapted it yet for the Apache
repo.


http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/5668/6/docs/topics/impala_new_features.xml
File docs/topics/impala_new_features.xml:

PS6, Line 105: , and each partition is onl
> Do we describe the behavior in more detail someplace else?
Yes, in the MT_DOP page linked from this bullet point.


-- 
To view, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/5668
To unsubscribe, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/settings

Gerrit-MessageType: comment
Gerrit-Change-Id: I7c47f422e509cec6d3eb8aaa82294b584f393aed
Gerrit-PatchSet: 3
Gerrit-Project: Impala-ASF
Gerrit-Branch: master
Gerrit-Owner: John Russell <jrussell@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Alex Behm <alex.behm@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Ambreen Kazi <ambreen.kazi@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Dan Hecht <dhecht@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Dimitris Tsirogiannis <dtsirogiannis@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Greg Rahn <grahn@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Henry Robinson <henry@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Jim Apple <jbapple-impala@apache.org>
Gerrit-Reviewer: John Russell <jrussell@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Laurel Hale <laurel@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Matthew Jacobs <mj@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Silvius Rus <srus@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-HasComments: Yes

Mime
View raw message