impala-reviews mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "John Russell (Code Review)" <ger...@cloudera.org>
Subject [Impala-ASF-CR] Release note updates for Impala 2.8
Date Sat, 28 Jan 2017 00:05:42 GMT
John Russell has posted comments on this change.

Change subject: Release note updates for Impala 2.8
......................................................................


Patch Set 5:

(9 comments)

Finished Mostafa comments. Patch set might be delayed because of a merge conflict. (Accidentally
posted this latest patch set to a different gerrit first.)

http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/#/c/5668/5/docs/topics/impala_new_features.xml
File docs/topics/impala_new_features.xml:

PS5, Line 59: <!-- To do: Get together with Mostafa to enumerate other performance-related
improvements. -->
> Talked with Mostafa. Subsequent comments from me are based on our chat.
Done


PS5, Line 65: <p rev="IMPALA-4572">
            :                 The <codeph>COMPUTE STATS</codeph> statement can
            :                 take advantage of multithreading.
            :               </p>
> Fold this item into the longer one below on the MT_DOP option.
Done. I'm sure I did this also in another gerrit review so it'll probably need conflict resolution
later.


PS5, Line 79: native code generation
> Group all the codegen-related items together. (Except the filtering one, wh
Done


PS5, Line 95: large number
            :                 of columns
> Especially if the table has TIMESTAMP columns.
Done


PS5, Line 112: A new hint, <codeph>SORTBY
> Why does the Fix Version field of IMPALA-4163 say Impala 2.9 not 2.8? Verif
Done


PS5, Line 120: new configuration setting
> Explain how to use this (requires safety valve).
Done


PS5, Line 121: network overhead
> The improvement is mainly reduced load on the catalog server.
Done


PS5, Line 140: </li>
> Mention IMPALA-4302 i.e. better IN list scalability.
Done


PS5, Line 141: <li>
> Mention IMPALA-1286 i.e. extracting common conjuncts from disjunctions.
Done


-- 
To view, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/5668
To unsubscribe, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/settings

Gerrit-MessageType: comment
Gerrit-Change-Id: I7c47f422e509cec6d3eb8aaa82294b584f393aed
Gerrit-PatchSet: 5
Gerrit-Project: Impala-ASF
Gerrit-Branch: master
Gerrit-Owner: John Russell <jrussell@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Alex Behm <alex.behm@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Ambreen Kazi <ambreen.kazi@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Dan Hecht <dhecht@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Dimitris Tsirogiannis <dtsirogiannis@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Greg Rahn <grahn@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Henry Robinson <henry@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Jim Apple <jbapple-impala@apache.org>
Gerrit-Reviewer: John Russell <jrussell@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Laurel Hale <laurel@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Matthew Jacobs <mj@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-HasComments: Yes

Mime
View raw message