impala-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Youwei Wang (Code Review)" <ger...@cloudera.org>
Subject [Impala-CR](cdh5-trunk) IMPALA-2809: Improve ByteSwap with builtin function or SSSE3 or AVX2.
Date Wed, 22 Jun 2016 01:29:42 GMT
Youwei Wang has uploaded a new patch set (#25).

Change subject: IMPALA-2809: Improve ByteSwap with builtin function or SSSE3 or AVX2.
......................................................................

IMPALA-2809: Improve ByteSwap with builtin function or SSSE3 or AVX2.

Using SSSE3/AVX2 intrinsic to accelerate the function
"static inline void ByteSwap(void* dst, const void* src, int len)" of BitUtil class,
and a scalar byte-swap routine is added as fallback.
Also the runtime selector for CPUs of different capacity is included,
as well as performance test and data verification.
Brief performance comparison is listed here:
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460  CPU@3.20GHz
Result:
Old Impala:    1X
Faster Scala:  1.021X
SSSE3:         10.59X
AVX2:          25.78X
SIMD:          24.86X

Change-Id: I392ed5a8d5683f30f161282c228c1aedd7b648c1
---
M be/src/benchmarks/CMakeLists.txt
A be/src/benchmarks/bswap-benchmark.cc
M be/src/exprs/string-functions-ir.cc
M be/src/util/bit-util-test.cc
M be/src/util/bit-util.inline.h
5 files changed, 380 insertions(+), 41 deletions(-)


  git pull ssh://gerrit.cloudera.org:29418/Impala refs/changes/81/3081/25
-- 
To view, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/3081
To unsubscribe, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/settings

Gerrit-MessageType: newpatchset
Gerrit-Change-Id: I392ed5a8d5683f30f161282c228c1aedd7b648c1
Gerrit-PatchSet: 25
Gerrit-Project: Impala
Gerrit-Branch: cdh5-trunk
Gerrit-Owner: Youwei Wang <youwei.a.wang@intel.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Alex Behm <alex.behm@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Jim Apple <jbapple@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Marcel Kornacker <marcel@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Mostafa Mokhtar <mmokhtar@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Tim Armstrong <tarmstrong@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Youwei Wang <youwei.a.wang@intel.com>

Mime
View raw message