impala-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Youwei Wang (Code Review)" <ger...@cloudera.org>
Subject [Impala-CR](cdh5-trunk) IMPALA-2809: Improve ByteSwap with builtin function or SSSE3 or AVX2.
Date Thu, 16 Jun 2016 14:24:47 GMT
Youwei Wang has posted comments on this change.

Change subject: IMPALA-2809: Improve ByteSwap with builtin function or SSSE3 or AVX2.
......................................................................


Patch Set 21:

Hi Jim. 
If you don’t mind, I want to show you some performance data of the API
StringVal StringFunctions::Reverse(FunctionContext* context, const StringVal& str) in
string-functions-ir.cc before/after it utilizes the BitUtil::ByteSwap(SIMD) routine.

The experiment setup is:
Hardware: : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460  CPU@3.20GHz
Testdata: lineitem.tbl file from TPC-H dbgen using scale=10; whose size is 7.3G. It has 59986052
rows.
Testquery: select reverse(l_comment) from tpch1.lineitem;

Experiment result:
Using std::reverse_copy: Fetched 59986052 row(s) in 1214.63s
Using BitUtil::ByteSwap(SIMD): Fetched 59986052 row(s) in 1188.57s
We do get some performance improvement here considering console output and HDFS file reading
takes most of the runtime. 

I am not sure whether such result is persuasive enough. Please feel free to tell me your idea
about this. Thank you.

-- 
To view, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/3081
To unsubscribe, visit http://gerrit.cloudera.org:8080/settings

Gerrit-MessageType: comment
Gerrit-Change-Id: I392ed5a8d5683f30f161282c228c1aedd7b648c1
Gerrit-PatchSet: 21
Gerrit-Project: Impala
Gerrit-Branch: cdh5-trunk
Gerrit-Owner: Youwei Wang <youwei.a.wang@intel.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Alex Behm <alex.behm@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Jim Apple <jbapple@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Marcel Kornacker <marcel@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Mostafa Mokhtar <mmokhtar@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Tim Armstrong <tarmstrong@cloudera.com>
Gerrit-Reviewer: Youwei Wang <youwei.a.wang@intel.com>
Gerrit-HasComments: No

Mime
View raw message