httpd-docs mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Luca Toscano <toscano.l...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: Fwd: Broken link on Apache.org
Date Sun, 15 May 2016 08:59:53 GMT
[re-arranged email thread]

2016-05-13 23:46 GMT+02:00 Rich Bowen <rbowen@rcbowen.com>:

>
> On May 12, 2016 7:44 PM, "Eric Covener" <covener@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> ---------- Forwarded message ----------
>> From: David Nalley <david@gnsa.us>
>> Date: Thu, May 12, 2016 at 7:40 PM
>> Subject: Re: Broken link on Apache.org
>> To: Jerry Lucas <Jerry_Lucas@msn.com>, dev@httpd.apache.org
>> Cc: webmaster@apache.org
>>
>>
>> Hi Jerry,
>>
>> Thanks for your report. I've forwarded this on to the Apache httpd
>> project who is responsible for maintaining that specific website.
>>
>> Thanks,
>>
>> --David
>>
>> On Thu, May 12, 2016 at 6:16 PM, Jerry Lucas <Jerry_Lucas@msn.com> wrote:
>> > Hello Webmaster,
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > I found a broken link on the web page at
>> > http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/misc/rewriteguide.html  Maybe it
>> should
>> > be https://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/rewrite/
>> >
>> >
>> >
>> > I was doing some reading about setting up a 301 Redirect on my website
>> and I
>> > watched an educational video from Google at
>> > https://support.google.com/webmasters/answer/93633  The bottom of the
>> Google
>> > article points to two outdated version links on Apache.org at
>> > https://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/howto/htaccess.html  and
>> > https://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/misc/rewriteguide.html   Those pages
>> > announce at the top that they are old versions and direct the user to
>> the
>> > current version.  But the link to the new rewrite guide page is broken
>> where
>> > it reads:  You may follow this link to go to the current version of this
>> > document.
>>
>
We'd need to work with infra to redirect that url. That page is long gone.


I tried to leave a comment in the Google page, they link directly to 2.0
docs (rather than current) so I suspect that page is very very old. I
wouldn't be inclined to put an extra link in the 2.0 doc because to do a
complete work we'd need to track down also all the other similar use cases.
It might be easier to follow up properly with Google to fix their doc.. but
this is of course IMHO :)

Luca

Mime
View raw message