httpd-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From ras...@bellglobal.com
Subject Re: core dumps with current CVS tree and gcc 2.8.1
Date Mon, 20 Apr 1998 17:20:41 GMT

> The runaway processes and core dumps started happening around the same time
> as the OS upgrade, various security fixes, and the installation of gcc
> 2.8.1 - and if I had to point to an external factor as a cause I'd probably
> point to gcc 2.8.1.  I'm going to recompile with gcc 2.7.2.1 and see if I
> still get the instability.  Oddly enough the problems seem to manifest
> themselves every weekday morning around 5am or so PST, though I can't find
> a connection...

Hrm.  Weird.  I have been chasing something similar on a Solaris 2.5.1
box with the current CVS and gcc-2.8.1.  The core dumps this month look like
this:

[Wed Apr  1 01:18:09 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Wed Apr  1 03:52:22 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Thu Apr  2 03:22:02 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Sat Apr  4 08:24:07 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Tue Apr  7 04:05:17 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Sun Apr 12 03:04:05 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Mon Apr 13 03:54:49 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Tue Apr 14 04:22:48 1998] caught SIGBUS, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Tue Apr 14 04:28:46 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Wed Apr 15 04:14:56 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Thu Apr 16 05:12:44 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Fri Apr 17 03:54:24 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Sat Apr 18 01:55:29 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www
[Mon Apr 20 06:35:01 1998] caught SIGSEGV, attempting to dump core in /u/www

It's not always at 5am, but magically it is always 5am +-4hours.  These
are all the core dumps.  I have not removed any lines, so it never dumps at
other times.  I thought I was just insane and have been considering
therapy to fix this one.  Perhaps we need group therapy if I am not the only
one seeing it.  

My core dumps always show random memory corruption within the php module, so
I was pretty sure I was messing something up in PHP.

-Rasmus

Mime
View raw message