hbase-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Jerry He (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (HBASE-15862) Backup - Delete- Restore does not restore deleted data
Date Fri, 03 Jun 2016 20:55:59 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HBASE-15862?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15314790#comment-15314790
] 

Jerry He commented on HBASE-15862:
----------------------------------

IMO and IIRC.  If fhe full restore is to an existing table, it would complain. This leaves
to the user to decide to have a fresh and clean restore.  
The -overwrite option is a tricky option to restore to an existing table, which should be
used cautiously. 
In the original plan, this option means that the user is aware of risks that it is a 'overwrite'
-- which can be  non-deterministic in some cases (e.g. the case described in this ticket).

If we do 'disable/delete' table as part of the restore, it is similar to let the user clean
up the table fresh outside of the restore process, which is similar to the non-overwrite case.

> Backup - Delete- Restore does not restore deleted data
> ------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: HBASE-15862
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HBASE-15862
>             Project: HBase
>          Issue Type: Bug
>            Reporter: Vladimir Rodionov
>            Assignee: Vladimir Rodionov
>         Attachments: HBASE-15862-v1.patch
>
>
> This was discovered during testing. If we delete row after full backup and perform immediately
restore, the deleted row still remains deleted. 



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message