hawq-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Lili Ma <lil...@apache.org>
Subject Re: [DISCUSS] Graduate Apache HAWQ (incubating) as a TLP
Date Wed, 20 Jun 2018 19:04:12 GMT
Thanks Radar for your great effort :)

+1

2018-06-20 12:00 GMT-04:00 Ed Espino <espino@apache.org>:

> +1 on our march to Apache TLP status. With Lei Chang as our initial VP and
> our wide global and diverse community supporting each other, I look forward
> to the new and exciting chapter for the project.
>
> Radar - Thank you for the excellent leadership through this process.
>
> Regards,
> -=e
>
> On Tue, Jun 19, 2018 at 2:40 AM Radar Lei <rlei@pivotal.io> wrote:
>
> > Hi All,
> >
> > With the 2.3.0.0-incubating release officially out, the Apache HAWQ
> > community and its mentors believe it is time to consider graduation to
> the
> > TLP:
> >     https://lists.apache.org/thread.html/b4a0b5671ce377b3d51c9b7
> > ab00496a1eebfcbf1696ce8b67e078c64@%3Cdev.hawq.apache.org%3E
> >
> > Apache HAWQ entered incubation in September of 2015, since then, the HAWQ
> > community learned a lot about how to do things in Apache ways. Now we
> have
> > a healthy and engaged community, ready to help with all questions from
> the
> > HAWQ community. We delivered four releases including two binary releases,
> > now we can do self-driving releases in good cadence. The PPMC has
> > demonstrated a good understanding of growing the community by electing 12
> > individuals as committers and PPMC members. The PPMC addressed the
> maturity
> > issues one by one followed by Apache Project Maturity Model, currently
> all
> > the License and IP issues are resolved. This demonstrated our
> understanding
> > of ASF's IP policies.
> >
> > All in all, I believe this project is qualified as a true TLP and we
> should
> > recognize this fact by formally awarding it such a status. This thread
> > means to open up the very same discussion that we had among the mentors
> and
> > HAWQ community to the rest of the IPMC. It is a DISCUSS thread so feel
> free
> > to ask questions.
> >
> > To get you all going, here are a few data points which may help:
> >
> > Project status:
> >  http://incubator.apache.org/projects/hawq.html
> >
> > Project website:
> >   http://hawq.incubator.apache.org/
> >
> > Project documentation:
> >    http://hawq.incubator.apache.org/docs/userguide/2.3.0.0-inc
> > ubating/overview/HAWQOverview.html
> >    http://hawq.apache.org/#download
> >
> > Maturity assessment:
> > https://cwiki.apache.org/confluence/display/HAWQ/ASF+Maturity+Evaluation
> >
> > DRAFT of the board resolution is at the bottom of this email
> >
> > Proposed PMC size: 45 members
> >
> > Total number of committers: 45 members
> >
> > PMC affiliation (* indicated chair):
> >    Pivotal (20)
> >  * Oushu (7)
> >    Amazon (3)
> >    Hashdata (2)
> >    Autonomic (1)
> >    Confluent (1)
> >    Datometry (1)
> >    Hortonworks (1)
> >    Microsoft (1)
> >    PETUUM (1)
> >    Privacera (1)
> >    Qubole (1)
> >    Snowflake (1)
> >    State Street (1)
> >    Unifi (1)
> >    Visa (1)
> >    ZEDEDA (1)
> >
> > 1549 commits on develop
> > 1375 PR”s on GitHub
> > 63 contributors across all branches
> >
> > 1624 issues created
> > 1350 issues resolved
> >
> > dev list averaged ~53 msgs/month over last 12 months
> > user list averaged ~6 msgs/month over last 12 months
> > 129 unique posters
> >
> >
> > committer affiliations:
> >     active
> >           pivotal.io
> >           oushu.io
> >           hashdata.cn
> >     occasional
> >           amazon.com
> >           autonomic.ai
> >           confluent.io
> >           datometry.com
> >           hortonworks.com
> >           microsoft.com
> >           petuum.com
> >           privacera.com
> >           qubole.com
> >           snowflake.net
> >           statestreet.com
> >           unifisoftware.com
> >           visa.com
> >           zededa.com
> >
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Radar
> >
> >
> >
> > ## Resolution to create a TLP from graduating Incubator podling
> >
> >     X. Establish the Apache HAWQ Project
> >
> >        WHEREAS, the Board of Directors deems it to be in the best
> >        interests of the Foundation and consistent with the
> >        Foundation's purpose to establish a Project Management
> >        Committee charged with the creation and maintenance of
> >        open-source software, for distribution at no charge to
> >        the public, related to Hadoop native SQL query engine that
> >        combines the key technological advantages of MPP database
> >        with the scalability and convenience of Hadoop.
> >
> >        NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that a Project Management
> >        Committee (PMC), to be known as the "Apache HAWQ Project",
> >        be and hereby is established pursuant to Bylaws of the
> >        Foundation; and be it further
> >
> >        RESOLVED, that the Apache HAWQ Project be and hereby is
> >        responsible for the creation and maintenance of software
> >        related to Hadoop native SQL query engine that
> >        combines the key technological advantages of MPP database
> >        with the scalability and convenience of Hadoop;
> >        and be it further
> >
> >        RESOLVED, that the office of "Vice President, Apache HAWQ" be
> >        and hereby is created, the person holding such office to
> >        serve at the direction of the Board of Directors as the chair
> >        of the Apache HAWQ Project, and to have primary responsibility
> >        for management of the projects within the scope of
> >        responsibility of the Apache HAWQ Project; and be it further
> >
> >        RESOLVED, that the persons listed immediately below be and
> >        hereby are appointed to serve as the initial members of the
> >        Apache HAWQ Project:
> >
> >         * Alan Gates           <gates@apache.org>
> >         * Alexander Denissov   <adenissov@apache.org>
> >         * Amy Bai              <abai@apache.org>
> >         * Atri Sharma          <atri@apache.org>
> >         * Bhuvnesh Chaudhary   <bhuvnesh2703@apache.org>
> >         * Bosco                <bosco@apache.org>
> >         * Chunling Wang        <wangchunling@apache.org>
> >         * David Yozie          <yozie@apache.org>
> >         * Ed Espino            <espino@apache.org>
> >         * Entong Shen          <entong@apache.org>
> >         * Foyzur Rahman        <foyzur@apache.org>
> >         * Goden Yao            <godenyao@apache.org>
> >         * Gregory Chase        <gregchase@apache.org>
> >         * Hong Wu              <xunzhang@apache.org>
> >         * Hongxu Ma            <interma@apache.org>
> >         * Hubert Zhang         <hubertzhang@apache.org>
> >         * Ivan Weng            <iweng@apache.org>
> >         * Jesse Zhang          <jz@apache.org>
> >         * Jiali Yao            <jyao@apache.org>
> >         * Jun Aoki             <jaoki@apache.org>
> >         * Kavinder Dhaliwal    <kavinder@apache.org>
> >         * Lav Jain             <lavjain@apache.org>
> >         * Lei Chang            <lei_chang@apache.org>
> >         * Lili Ma              <lilima@apache.org>
> >         * Lirong Jian          <jian@apache.org>
> >         * Lisa Owen            <lisao@apache.org>
> >         * Ming Li              <mli@apache.org>
> >         * Mohamed Soliman      <msoliman@apache.org>
> >         * Newton Alex          <nalex@apache.org>
> >         * Noa Horn             <nhorn@apache.org>
> >         * Oleksandr Diachenko  <odiachenko@apache.org>
> >         * Paul Guo             <paulguo@apache.org>
> >         * Radar Da Lei         <rlei@apache.org>
> >         * Roman Shaposhnik     <rvs@apache.org>
> >         * Ruilong Huo          <huor@apache.org>
> >         * Shivram Mani         <shivram@apache.org>
> >         * Shubham Sharma       <outofmemory@apache.org>
> >         * Tushar Pednekar      <tushar_pednekar@apache.org>
> >         * Venkatesh Raghavan   <vraghavan78@apache.org>
> >         * Vineet Goel          <vvineet@apache.org>
> >         * Wen Lin              <wlin@apache.org>
> >         * Xiang Sheng          <xsheng@apache.org>
> >         * Yi Jin               <yjin@apache.org>
> >         * Zhanwei Wang         <wangzw@apache.org>
> >         * Zhenglin Tao         <ztao1987@apache.org>
> >
> >        NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Lei Chang
> >        be appointed to the office of Vice President, Apache HAWQ, to
> >        serve in accordance with and subject to the direction of the
> >        Board of Directors and the Bylaws of the Foundation until
> >        death, resignation, retirement, removal or disqualification,
> >        or until a successor is appointed; and be it further
> >
> >        RESOLVED, that the initial Apache HAWQ PMC be and hereby is
> >        tasked with the creation of a set of bylaws intended to
> >        encourage open development and increased participation in the
> >        Apache HAWQ Project; and be it further
> >
> >        RESOLVED, that the Apache HAWQ Project be and hereby
> >        is tasked with the migration and rationalization of the Apache
> >        Incubator HAWQ podling; and be it further
> >
> >        RESOLVED, that all responsibilities pertaining to the Apache
> >        Incubator HAWQ podling encumbered upon the Apache Incubator
> >        Project are hereafter discharged.
> >
>

Mime
  • Unnamed multipart/alternative (inline, None, 0 bytes)
View raw message