harmony-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Richard Liang <richard.lian...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: [classlib][TestNG] groups of Harmony test
Date Wed, 30 Aug 2006 03:06:25 GMT

Paulex Yang wrote:
> Richard Liang wrote:
>> Hello All,
>> Now let's talk about the TestNG groups. I have read the related 
>> threads which posted by George, Vladimir Ivanov and Alexei Zakharov. 
>> All of them are good discussion about TestNG groups.
>> IMHO, we may define Harmony test groups according the following 4 
>> dimensions:
>> 1) [Platform] os.any, os.<platform id>
>> *os.any* - group of tests which pass on any platform. IMHO, most of 
>> our tests should be in this group.
>> *os.<platform id>* - group of tests which are designed for one 
>> specific platform. A test may be in more than one of the groups. 
>> e.g., @Test(groups={"os.win.IA32", "os.linux.IA32"})
>>    ** os.any and os.<platform id> are mutually exclusive, that is, 
>> tests in os.any group should not be in os.win.IA32.
> I suggest to separate the CPU arch with OS, they are actually 
> different things, and we probably will have tests written for all 
> 64bits arch, or for all Linux OS.

Thanks a lot, Paulex. I agree. Separating os and arch make our groups 
more flexible. I will update the grouping proposal soon to integrate 
your and others' suggestion.

Best regards,

>> 2) [Test state] state.broken, state.broken.<platform id>
>> *state.broken* - group of tests which fail on every platform, because 
>> of bugs of tests or implementation. We need to fix the bugs of tests 
>> or implementation to make them pass.
>> *state.broken.<platform id>* - groups of test which only fail on one 
>> specific platform. A test may be in more than one of the groups. 
>> e.g., @Test(groups={"state.broken.linux.IA32", "os.broken.linux.IA64"})
>>     **state.broken.<platform id> group may be used as a convenient 
>> way to indicate that a test is platform-specific. e.g., If we support 
>> 10 platforms, and one test are designed for 9 platforms except for 
>> MacOS, instead of list 9 os.<platform id>, we can just use 
>> state.broken.MacOS
>> 3) [Test type] type.api, type.impl
>> *type.api* - group of tests which are tests for APIs in the Java 
>> Specification
>> *type.impl* - groups of tests which are tests for Harmony-specific 
>> implementation
>>     ** type.api and type.impl are also mutually exclusive.
>> 4) [Test Level] level.unit, level.integration, level.system, 
>> level.stress, etc. (Levels of Test refer to the increase in 
>> complexity as moving through test cycle. )
>>    ** A test may be in more than one of the groups.
>>    ** In fact, some tests such as System tests are the verification 
>> of the entire system.  Maybe we'll put them into a separate project. 
>> e.g., harmony/enhanced/SVT (System Verification Test).
>> If we want to run all the unit test for APIs on windows, we may use 
>> TestNG groups to select the tests:
>>        <groups>
>>            <run>
>>                <include name="os.any" />
>>                <include name="type.api" />
>>                <include name="os.win.IA32" />
>>                <exclude name="state.broken" />
>>                <exclude name="state.broken.win.IA32" />
>>            </run>
>>        </groups>
>> Well, I think our most of existing tests are in the groups of 
>> {"os.any", "type.api", "level.unit"}, and I have asked TestNG to add 
>> a new option "-groups" for its JUnitConverter which allow us to 
>> specify the test groups when migrate from JUnit test to TestNG test.
>> Thanks for reading so far, and I will highly appreciate your comments 
>> or suggestion.  ;-)

Richard Liang
China Software Development Lab, IBM 

Terms of use : http://incubator.apache.org/harmony/mailing.html
To unsubscribe, e-mail: harmony-dev-unsubscribe@incubator.apache.org
For additional commands, e-mail: harmony-dev-help@incubator.apache.org

View raw message