hadoop-yarn-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Vrushali C (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (YARN-4356) ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned off
Date Tue, 05 Jan 2016 22:22:39 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15083947#comment-15083947
] 

Vrushali C commented on YARN-4356:
----------------------------------

Hmm. I am not sure if it is inconsistent. The actual behavior right now checks for an exact
2. The javadoc is more comprehensive and so it still holds true since it's smaller than 3.
Now say when we release v2 and then we are working v2.1, we might want to add in a check for
2.1 which does something different from 2 and at the same time, it's not really timeline v3.
So IMO, the check is also fine and the javadoc is also fine.

> ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned
off
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: YARN-4356
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356
>             Project: Hadoop YARN
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: timelineserver
>    Affects Versions: YARN-2928
>            Reporter: Sangjin Lee
>            Assignee: Sangjin Lee
>            Priority: Critical
>              Labels: yarn-2928-1st-milestone
>             Fix For: YARN-2928
>
>         Attachments: YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.002.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.003.patch,
YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.004.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.005.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.006.patch,
YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.poc.001.patch
>
>
> For us to be able to merge the first milestone drop to trunk, we want to ensure that
once disabled the timeline service v.2 has no impact from the server side to the client side.
If the timeline service is not enabled, no action should be done. If v.1 is enabled but not
v.2, v.1 should behave the same as it does before the merge.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message