hadoop-yarn-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Li Lu (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (YARN-4356) ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned off
Date Tue, 05 Jan 2016 22:16:39 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15083938#comment-15083938
] 

Li Lu commented on YARN-4356:
-----------------------------

One quick query w.r.t changes in this JIRA: I just noticed that in YarnConfiguration#timelineServiceV2Enabled,
the javadoc describes it as:
bq. whether the timeline service v.2 is enabled. V.2 refers to a version greater than equal
to 2 but smaller than 3.
But the actual behavior is to directly check if the version of timeline server equals to 2.
I believe this will generate some inconsistency. Are there any special considerations? Shall
we quickly put an addendum patch? 

> ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned
off
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: YARN-4356
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356
>             Project: Hadoop YARN
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: timelineserver
>    Affects Versions: YARN-2928
>            Reporter: Sangjin Lee
>            Assignee: Sangjin Lee
>            Priority: Critical
>              Labels: yarn-2928-1st-milestone
>             Fix For: YARN-2928
>
>         Attachments: YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.002.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.003.patch,
YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.004.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.005.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.006.patch,
YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.poc.001.patch
>
>
> For us to be able to merge the first milestone drop to trunk, we want to ensure that
once disabled the timeline service v.2 has no impact from the server side to the client side.
If the timeline service is not enabled, no action should be done. If v.1 is enabled but not
v.2, v.1 should behave the same as it does before the merge.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message