hadoop-yarn-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Naganarasimha G R (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (YARN-4356) ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned off
Date Wed, 09 Dec 2015 19:08:11 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15049204#comment-15049204
] 

Naganarasimha G R commented on YARN-4356:
-----------------------------------------

Hi [~sjlee0]

few points from my side
# I felt better to extract a interface from NMTimelinePublisher a no op impl and regular impl
so that we can avoid null checks by the caller everytime
# We would not require two different configs to indicate enabling of the SystemMetricsPublisher
we can YarnConfiguration.SYSTEM_METRICS_PUBLISHER_ENABLED and depricate YarnConfiguration.RM_SYSTEM_METRICS_PUBLISHER_ENABLED
(at the same time map the value from the prev key to the new key)


> ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned
off
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: YARN-4356
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356
>             Project: Hadoop YARN
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: timelineserver
>    Affects Versions: YARN-2928
>            Reporter: Sangjin Lee
>            Assignee: Sangjin Lee
>            Priority: Critical
>              Labels: yarn-2928-1st-milestone
>         Attachments: YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.002.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.003.patch,
YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.004.patch, YARN-4356-feature-YARN-2928.poc.001.patch
>
>
> For us to be able to merge the first milestone drop to trunk, we want to ensure that
once disabled the timeline service v.2 has no impact from the server side to the client side.
If the timeline service is not enabled, no action should be done. If v.1 is enabled but not
v.2, v.1 should behave the same as it does before the merge.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message