hadoop-yarn-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Sangjin Lee (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (YARN-4356) ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned off
Date Wed, 18 Nov 2015 02:54:11 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=15010094#comment-15010094
] 

Sangjin Lee commented on YARN-4356:
-----------------------------------

I haven't looked at YARN-4234 in detail yet. Are you referring to the version config?

One thing we need to resolve early is whether we should support having both v.1.x and v.2
enabled. While I see value in being able to do so, I recognize that it would be a pretty major
rework, as the current code is making a strong assumption of this being a binary choice (mutually
exclusive). cc [~jrottinghuis]

Also, as I was arguing on YARN-4183, if the v.2 timeline service is disabled (whichever config
it may be), it would be desirable to disable the v.2 code cleanly and as early as possible
so as not to leave impact. It would be basically "wiring off" the feature.

Once we have some consensus around it, we can start work on this.

> ensure the timeline service v.2 is disabled cleanly and has no impact when it's turned
off
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: YARN-4356
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/YARN-4356
>             Project: Hadoop YARN
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: timelineserver
>    Affects Versions: YARN-2928
>            Reporter: Sangjin Lee
>            Assignee: Sangjin Lee
>            Priority: Critical
>              Labels: yarn-2928-1st-milestone
>
> For us to be able to merge the first milestone drop to trunk, we want to ensure that
once disabled the timeline service v.2 has no impact from the server side to the client side.
If the timeline service is not enabled, no action should be done. If v.1 is enabled but not
v.2, v.1 should behave the same as it does before the merge.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.3.4#6332)

Mime
View raw message