hadoop-hdfs-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Hudson (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (HDFS-6500) Snapshot shouldn't be removed silently after renaming to an existing snapshot
Date Sun, 08 Jun 2014 15:19:01 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-6500?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=14021205#comment-14021205
] 

Hudson commented on HDFS-6500:
------------------------------

FAILURE: Integrated in Hadoop-Mapreduce-trunk #1795 (See [https://builds.apache.org/job/Hadoop-Mapreduce-trunk/1795/])
HDFS-6500. Snapshot shouldn't be removed silently after renaming to an existing snapshot.
(Contributed by Nicholas SZE) (junping_du: http://svn.apache.org/viewcvs.cgi/?root=Apache-SVN&view=rev&rev=1601199)
* /hadoop/common/trunk/hadoop-hdfs-project/hadoop-hdfs/CHANGES.txt
* /hadoop/common/trunk/hadoop-hdfs-project/hadoop-hdfs/src/main/java/org/apache/hadoop/hdfs/server/namenode/snapshot/INodeDirectorySnapshottable.java
* /hadoop/common/trunk/hadoop-hdfs-project/hadoop-hdfs/src/test/java/org/apache/hadoop/hdfs/TestSnapshotCommands.java


> Snapshot shouldn't be removed silently after renaming to an existing snapshot
> -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: HDFS-6500
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-6500
>             Project: Hadoop HDFS
>          Issue Type: Bug
>          Components: snapshots
>    Affects Versions: 2.4.0
>            Reporter: Junping Du
>            Assignee: Tsz Wo Nicholas Sze
>            Priority: Blocker
>             Fix For: 2.5.0
>
>         Attachments: h6500_20140607.patch
>
>
> Assume you have two snapshots for /dir: s1, s2, when you do "hdfs dfs 
> -renameSnapshot /dir s2 s1" which means you want to rename s2 to s1. It will cause s2
been dropped silently and s1 still keep the previous one. This is very confusing and easily
cause wrong operation.
> The right behavior should be providing a warning to remind user that the target name
is already existed and do nothing. If user do want to overlap s1, he should add some option
(i.e. "-f") or delete s1 first.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.2#6252)

Mime
View raw message