hadoop-hdfs-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Suresh Srinivas (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Updated] (HDFS-6005) Simplify Datanode rollback and downgrade
Date Mon, 24 Feb 2014 20:40:07 GMT

     [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-6005?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:all-tabpanel
]

Suresh Srinivas updated HDFS-6005:
----------------------------------

    Attachment: HDFS-6005.03.patch

Thanks for the comments [~arpitagarwal]. New patches addresses them.

> Simplify Datanode rollback and downgrade
> ----------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: HDFS-6005
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-6005
>             Project: Hadoop HDFS
>          Issue Type: Sub-task
>          Components: datanode, namenode
>            Reporter: Suresh Srinivas
>            Assignee: Suresh Srinivas
>         Attachments: HDFS-6005.01.patch, HDFS-6005.02.patch, HDFS-6005.03.patch, HDFS-6005.patch
>
>
> Problem:
> When rolling upgrade fails, the cluster can either be downgraded or rolled back. With
the current functionality in this feature branch, it is possible to downgrade namenode, while
datanode is incorrectly rolled back. This does not affect the cluster state. The old blocks
that appear back on the datanode due to rollback will be deleted. Similarly it is also possible
to rollback namenode, while datanode is not rolled back. This can cause problem where old
blocks do not appear back on the datanode and can result in missing blocks.
> Solution:
> I propose making the following changes:
> During rollback or downgrade, the entire cluster must be restarted. The datanodes always
restore the deleted blocks on restart and go back to trash disabled mode. There is no need
for datanodes to be started up -rollingUpgrade -rollback, anymore.
> # On namenode downgrade, the restored blocks are deleted.
> # On namenode rollback, the restored blocks will be retained and any newly created blocks
(since the start of rolling upgrade) are deleted.
> This is much simpler operationally and solves the problem described above.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.1.5#6160)

Mime
View raw message