hadoop-hdfs-issues mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Hudson (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] [Commented] (HDFS-5474) Deletesnapshot can make Namenode in safemode on NN restarts.
Date Thu, 14 Nov 2013 13:29:31 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-5474?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=13822408#comment-13822408
] 

Hudson commented on HDFS-5474:
------------------------------

FAILURE: Integrated in Hadoop-Mapreduce-trunk #1608 (See [https://builds.apache.org/job/Hadoop-Mapreduce-trunk/1608/])
HDFS-5474. Deletesnapshot can make Namenode in safemode on NN restarts. Contributed by Sathish.
(jing9: http://svn.apache.org/viewcvs.cgi/?root=Apache-SVN&view=rev&rev=1541685)
* /hadoop/common/trunk/hadoop-hdfs-project/hadoop-hdfs/CHANGES.txt
* /hadoop/common/trunk/hadoop-hdfs-project/hadoop-hdfs/src/main/java/org/apache/hadoop/hdfs/server/namenode/FSNamesystem.java


> Deletesnapshot can make Namenode in safemode on NN restarts.
> ------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: HDFS-5474
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HDFS-5474
>             Project: Hadoop HDFS
>          Issue Type: Bug
>          Components: snapshots
>            Reporter: Uma Maheswara Rao G
>            Assignee: sathish
>             Fix For: 2.3.0
>
>         Attachments: HDFS-5474-001.patch, HDFS-5474-002.patch
>
>
> When we deletesnapshot, we are deleting the blocks associated to that snapshot and after
that we do logsync to editlog about deleteSnapshot.
> There can be a chance that blocks removed from blocks map but before log sync if there
is BR ,  NN may finds that block does not exist in blocks map and may invalidate that block.
As part HB, invalidation info also can go. After this steps if Namenode shutdown before actually
do logsync,  On restart it will still consider that snapshot Inodes and expect blocks to report
from DN.
> Simple solution is, we should simply move down that blocks removal after logsync only.
Similar to delete op.



--
This message was sent by Atlassian JIRA
(v6.1#6144)

Mime
View raw message