hadoop-common-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Susheel Kumar Gadalay <skgada...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: hadoop 2.4 using Protobuf - How does downgrade back to 2.3 works ?
Date Tue, 21 Oct 2014 06:22:47 GMT
New files added in 2.4.0 will not be there in the metadata of 2.3.0.
You need to add once again.

On 10/21/14, Manoj Samel <manojsameltech@gmail.com> wrote:
> Is the pre-upgrade metadata also kept updated with any changes one in 2.4.0
> ? Or is it just the 2.3.0 snapshot preserved?
>
> Thanks,
>
> On Sat, Oct 18, 2014 at 1:46 PM, Harsh J <harsh@cloudera.com> wrote:
>
>> Until you issue a finalize command, the pre-upgrade metadata is kept
>> aside for rolling back. When you issue the rollback command, it
>> replaces the past metadata files back.
>>
>> On Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 5:45 AM, Manoj Samel <manojsameltech@gmail.com>
>> wrote:
>> > Hadoop 2.4.0 mentions that FSImage is stored using protobuf. So upgrade
>> from
>> > 2.3.0 to 2.4 would work since 2.4 can read old (2.3) binary format and
>> write
>> > the new 2.4 protobuf format.
>> >
>> > After using 2.4, if there is a need to downgrade back to 2.3, how would
>> that
>> > work ?
>> >
>> > Thanks,
>>
>>
>>
>> --
>> Harsh J
>>
>

Mime
View raw message