hadoop-common-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Manoj Samel <manojsamelt...@gmail.com>
Subject Re: hadoop 2.4 using Protobuf - How does downgrade back to 2.3 works ?
Date Tue, 21 Oct 2014 01:27:32 GMT
Is the pre-upgrade metadata also kept updated with any changes one in 2.4.0
? Or is it just the 2.3.0 snapshot preserved?

Thanks,

On Sat, Oct 18, 2014 at 1:46 PM, Harsh J <harsh@cloudera.com> wrote:

> Until you issue a finalize command, the pre-upgrade metadata is kept
> aside for rolling back. When you issue the rollback command, it
> replaces the past metadata files back.
>
> On Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 5:45 AM, Manoj Samel <manojsameltech@gmail.com>
> wrote:
> > Hadoop 2.4.0 mentions that FSImage is stored using protobuf. So upgrade
> from
> > 2.3.0 to 2.4 would work since 2.4 can read old (2.3) binary format and
> write
> > the new 2.4 protobuf format.
> >
> > After using 2.4, if there is a need to downgrade back to 2.3, how would
> that
> > work ?
> >
> > Thanks,
>
>
>
> --
> Harsh J
>

Mime
View raw message