hadoop-common-user mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Torsten Curdt <tcu...@apache.org>
Subject Re: finalize upgrade
Date Sun, 16 Dec 2007 13:57:52 GMT

On 14.12.2007, at 23:35, Konstantin Shvachko wrote:

>> Well, from the output it looks like that has been run. At least I   
>> cannot see any sign telling me I still need to run it ...still  
>> was  the previous directory on the name node.
>>> The way it works in pre 0.16 is that you start the cluster, and  
>>> issue:
>>> hadoop dfsadmin -finalizeUpgrade
>> I've just run that again. Now the 'previous' dir on the namenode  
>> is  gone. But on the data nodes the 'previous' is still there.
> That means finalizeUpgrade has not been run before or failed for  
> some reason.
>>> Now, if you still want to do it manually, then yes just remove   
>>> "previous"
>>> dir on the name-node and then start the cluster.
>>> Data-nodes will finalize automatically.
>> Hmmm ...I cannot see that happening. Now what?
> Finalizing on the data-nodes is very lazy.
> During registrations and block reports the name-node will inform  
> data-nodes
> whether it has the previous state or not. If not the data-nodes  
> will remove
> their previous states.
> On the running cluster a complete previous state removal can take  
> up to one hour.
> If you need to accelerate it - restart the cluster.
> But it should be done by now. There's been 3 hours since you wrote  
> this.

Yepp ...you were right :) 'previous' is gone now.


View raw message