hadoop-common-dev mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From "Doug Cutting (JIRA)" <j...@apache.org>
Subject [jira] Commented: (HADOOP-2543) No-permission-checking mode for smooth transition to 0.16's permissions features.
Date Tue, 15 Jan 2008 00:42:34 GMT

    [ https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HADOOP-2543?page=com.atlassian.jira.plugin.system.issuetabpanels:comment-tabpanel&focusedCommentId=12558879#action_12558879
] 

Doug Cutting commented on HADOOP-2543:
--------------------------------------

> Explicitly tightening them is more backwards compatible, but from the security point
of view, explicitly loosening them is safer.

Yes, and for this upgrade, back-compatibility is more important than immediately increasing
security.  We don't decrease security any, and folks can easily increase security after the
upgrade by tightening permissions.  But we don't want things to be broken as soon as they
upgrade by automatically tightening permissions.

What I'm proposing is essentially the use-case you describe above for using dfs.permission=false,
but without setting that: after the upgrade everything is permitted, and folks can start restricting
access, but without having to restart the cluster.  I think for most sites this is simpler,
less surprising and sufficient.

> No-permission-checking mode for smooth transition to 0.16's permissions features. 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
>                 Key: HADOOP-2543
>                 URL: https://issues.apache.org/jira/browse/HADOOP-2543
>             Project: Hadoop
>          Issue Type: New Feature
>          Components: dfs
>    Affects Versions: 0.15.1
>            Reporter: Sanjay Radia
>            Assignee: Hairong Kuang
>             Fix For: 0.16.0
>
>
> In moving to 0.16,  which will support permissions, a mode of no-permission checking
has been proposed to allow smooth transition to using the new permissions feature.
> The idea is that at first 0.16 will be used for a period of time with permission checking
off. 
> Later after the admin has changed ownership and permissions of various files, the permission
checking can be turned off.
> This Jira defines what the semantics are of the no-permission-checking mode.

-- 
This message is automatically generated by JIRA.
-
You can reply to this email to add a comment to the issue online.


Mime
View raw message