hadoop-common-commits mailing list archives

Site index · List index
Message view « Date » · « Thread »
Top « Date » · « Thread »
From Apache Wiki <wikidi...@apache.org>
Subject [Hadoop Wiki] Update of "FAQ" by LohitVijayarenu
Date Wed, 09 Jul 2008 00:13:45 GMT
Dear Wiki user,

You have subscribed to a wiki page or wiki category on "Hadoop Wiki" for change notification.

The following page has been changed by LohitVijayarenu:
http://wiki.apache.org/hadoop/FAQ

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  Hadoop offers the ''decommission'' feature to retire a set of existing data-nodes.
  The nodes to be retired should be included into the ''exclude file'', and the exclude file
name should 
  be specified as a configuration parameter
- [http://hadoop.apache.org/core/docs/current/hadoop-default.html#dfs.hosts.exclude dfs.hosts.exclude].
+ [http://hadoop.apache.org/core/docs/current/hadoop-default.html#dfs.hosts.exclude dfs.hosts.exclude].
This file should have been specified during namenode startup. It could be a zero length file.
  Then the shell command
  {{{
  bin/hadoop dfsadmin -refreshNodes
  }}}
- should be called, which forces the name-node to re-read its configuration files, including
the exclude file
+ should be called, which forces the name-node to re-read the exclude file
  and start the decommission process. The nodes can be removed whenever decommission is finished.
  
  Decommission does not happen momentarily since we do not want the cluster to be overwhelmed
with just this one job.

Mime
View raw message